Unofficial magicJack Forum

Unofficial magicJack Forum

Your Unofficial magicJack and magicJack Plus phone service information resource
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
100% free calls with Gizmo without Grandcentral needed

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Unofficial magicJack Forum -> The Lounge
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Poo619
MagicJack Expert


Joined: 20 Nov 2007
Posts: 96

PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2008 5:23 am    Post subject: 100% free calls with Gizmo without Grandcentral needed

http://www.gizmo5.com/pc/backdoor Seems like a cool idea and will be implemented more if more people are using it give it a shot as the quality is fantastic! I set this baby up as a backup line in my basement. I've had about 75% connection rate just messing with it. Also use grand central for incoming its basically a 100% free phone when it works Smile and if you set the dial plan up properly in your ata you wont have to dial the 0101 every time you call.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
testing123
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 13 Nov 2007
Posts: 703

PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2008 6:56 am    Post subject:

Very interesting. Already using it w/ GC, will have to try this out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
digitalnomad
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 26 Dec 2007
Posts: 184

PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2008 2:02 pm    Post subject:

Aren't Gizmo calls limited to 10 minutes? I think Gizmo is not that great. Ha

Bah...first three numbers I checked are not available. What a waste of time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LikeMagic
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 01 Jan 2008
Posts: 613
Location: LikeMagic Pacific NW

PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2008 2:36 pm    Post subject:

I checked out Gizmo Project before and decided it wasn't for me, "free calls" have too many restrictions Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Poo619
MagicJack Expert


Joined: 20 Nov 2007
Posts: 96

PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2008 2:30 am    Post subject:

I think these have rules of their own. In essence you are making a VOIP call so I dont think they have limitations on free calls. Again not really a whole solution but a nice backup/second line
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
digitalnomad
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 26 Dec 2007
Posts: 184

PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2008 11:35 am    Post subject: No More Gizmo Support from GrandCental

I am thinking that GrandCentral no longer is supporting Gizmo sip numbers. This option is no longer visible in GC "settings".

Has anyone else noticed this. Here is a link to the GC user help forum about it.

http://groups.google.com/group/grandcentral-help-problemsolving/browse_thread/thread/fb4752997420e9e5?hl=en

Confirmation, affirmation...concurrence?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gruz
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 31 Dec 2007
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2008 2:26 pm    Post subject: Re: No More Gizmo Support from GrandCental

digitalnomad wrote:
I am thinking that GrandCentral no longer is supporting Gizmo sip numbers. This option is no longer visible in GC "settings".

Has anyone else noticed this. Here is a link to the GC user help forum about it.

http://groups.google.com/group/grandcentral-help-problemsolving/browse_thread/thread/fb4752997420e9e5?hl=en

Confirmation, affirmation...concurrence?


My GC page still has the gizmo number and I can call out using it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
digitalnomad
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 26 Dec 2007
Posts: 184

PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2008 5:44 pm    Post subject:

I never implemented Gizmo as an active setting on my GC UI, but I no longer have that option. There is no setting available for a Gizmo number any longer on my user panel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
digitalnomad
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 26 Dec 2007
Posts: 184

PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 11:42 am    Post subject: Gizmo5 No Worky with GrabdCentral

Here is more confirmation that peoples are having problems with the new Gizmo5 if they try to use it with GC.

http://groups.google.com/group/grandcentral-help-problemsolving/browse_thread/thread/6b98b2e3413856c3?hl=en
http://groups.google.com/group/grandcentral-help-getting-started/browse_thread/thread/3848a43f26e408bc?hl=en
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Unofficial magicJack Forum -> The Lounge All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Powered by phpBB Ultra Turbo Extended Edition Live © 2001-9999, phpBB Group
magicJack and magicJack Plus are trademarks of magicJack LLP. This website is in no way affiliated, endorsed, or sponsored by magicJack LLP, and is an unofficial forum for consumers to openly communicate regarding their experiences with the magicJack products.