magicJack  and magicJack Plus Support, Reviews, FAQs and Tricks Forum Index

magicJack and magicJack Plus Support, Reviews, FAQs and Tricks


magicJack and magicJack Plus Unofficial Technical Support. Your Magic Jack and Magic Jack Plus phone service information resource
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

100% free calls with Gizmo without Grandcentral needed



 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    magicJack and magicJack Plus Support, Reviews, FAQs and Tricks Forum Index -> The Lounge
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Poo619
MagicJack Expert


Joined: 20 Nov 2007
Posts: 96

PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2008 5:23 am    Post subject: 100% free calls with Gizmo without Grandcentral needed Reply with quote

http://www.gizmo5.com/pc/backdoor Seems like a cool idea and will be implemented more if more people are using it give it a shot as the quality is fantastic! I set this baby up as a backup line in my basement. I've had about 75% connection rate just messing with it. Also use grand central for incoming its basically a 100% free phone when it works Smile and if you set the dial plan up properly in your ata you wont have to dial the 0101 every time you call.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
testing123
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 13 Nov 2007
Posts: 703

PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2008 6:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Very interesting. Already using it w/ GC, will have to try this out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
digitalnomad
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 26 Dec 2007
Posts: 184

PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2008 2:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aren't Gizmo calls limited to 10 minutes? I think Gizmo is not that great. Ha

Bah...first three numbers I checked are not available. What a waste of time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LikeMagic
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 01 Jan 2008
Posts: 613
Location: LikeMagic Pacific NW

PostPosted: Sun Feb 03, 2008 2:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I checked out Gizmo Project before and decided it wasn't for me, "free calls" have too many restrictions Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Poo619
MagicJack Expert


Joined: 20 Nov 2007
Posts: 96

PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2008 2:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think these have rules of their own. In essence you are making a VOIP call so I dont think they have limitations on free calls. Again not really a whole solution but a nice backup/second line
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
digitalnomad
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 26 Dec 2007
Posts: 184

PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2008 11:35 am    Post subject: No More Gizmo Support from GrandCental Reply with quote

I am thinking that GrandCentral no longer is supporting Gizmo sip numbers. This option is no longer visible in GC "settings".

Has anyone else noticed this. Here is a link to the GC user help forum about it.

http://groups.google.com/group/grandcentral-help-problemsolving/browse_thread/thread/fb4752997420e9e5?hl=en

Confirmation, affirmation...concurrence?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gruz
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 31 Dec 2007
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2008 2:26 pm    Post subject: Re: No More Gizmo Support from GrandCental Reply with quote

digitalnomad wrote:
I am thinking that GrandCentral no longer is supporting Gizmo sip numbers. This option is no longer visible in GC "settings".

Has anyone else noticed this. Here is a link to the GC user help forum about it.

http://groups.google.com/group/grandcentral-help-problemsolving/browse_thread/thread/fb4752997420e9e5?hl=en

Confirmation, affirmation...concurrence?


My GC page still has the gizmo number and I can call out using it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
digitalnomad
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 26 Dec 2007
Posts: 184

PostPosted: Fri Feb 15, 2008 5:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I never implemented Gizmo as an active setting on my GC UI, but I no longer have that option. There is no setting available for a Gizmo number any longer on my user panel.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
digitalnomad
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 26 Dec 2007
Posts: 184

PostPosted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 11:42 am    Post subject: Gizmo5 No Worky with GrabdCentral Reply with quote

Here is more confirmation that peoples are having problems with the new Gizmo5 if they try to use it with GC.

http://groups.google.com/group/grandcentral-help-problemsolving/browse_thread/thread/6b98b2e3413856c3?hl=en
http://groups.google.com/group/grandcentral-help-getting-started/browse_thread/thread/3848a43f26e408bc?hl=en
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    magicJack and magicJack Plus Support, Reviews, FAQs and Tricks Forum Index -> The Lounge All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB Turbo Extended Edition © 2010, phpBB Group