Unofficial magicJack Forum

Unofficial magicJack Forum

Your Unofficial magicJack and magicJack Plus phone service information resource
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
2 Magic Jacks on 1 PC

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Unofficial magicJack Forum -> magicJack Tips, Tricks, and Hacks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Woebringer
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 01 Apr 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Apr 01, 2008 10:09 pm    Post subject: 2 Magic Jacks on 1 PC

Back on the old beta boards I seem to remember a project or working hack to enable multiple MJs on one PC. Does anyone remember this or have knowledge they can share?

-Woe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jaqie
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 16 Jan 2008
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2008 9:17 pm    Post subject:

Yep. works fine inside a VM. I am one of the contributors to that thread you mention.

either use vmware (pay for) or virtualbox (free OSS) and run one inside the VM.
This method even lets you run a windows VM on a linux host and run mj inside that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
testing123
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 13 Nov 2007
Posts: 703

PostPosted: Wed Apr 02, 2008 10:04 pm    Post subject:

jaqie wrote:
Yep. works fine inside a VM. I am one of the contributors to that thread you mention.

either use vmware (pay for) or virtualbox (free OSS) and run one inside the VM.
This method even lets you run a windows VM on a linux host and run mj inside that.


jaqie: vmware server is free -- you just have to register your Email addr and answer a couple of questions; you can then request as many licenses as you need. License keys are then sent to you instantly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jaqie
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 16 Jan 2008
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Thu Apr 03, 2008 1:52 pm    Post subject:

Yes. have you ever tried to set up a new VM with the free software? it's not for people that don't know much about PCs. That is the very reason I say it is pay for, because the only even somewhat user friendly method of setting up a new VM for player is not a simple process.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Woebringer
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 01 Apr 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Apr 04, 2008 6:44 pm    Post subject:

Thank you for the feedback. If I get some time this weekend the VMware route is always doable. My memory could be foggy but I thought someone also had a MoP where they renamed some files and ran to MJ instances as services without the need for a Virtual Machine. Anyone remember anything about that?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nickage
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 20 May 2008
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2008 12:37 am    Post subject:

jaqie wrote:
Yep. works fine inside a VM. I am one of the contributors to that thread you mention.

either use vmware (pay for) or virtualbox (free OSS) and run one inside the VM.
This method even lets you run a windows VM on a linux host and run mj inside that.


Can you run multiple VM inside your host. What OS is supported? System requirements?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stroths
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 02 Apr 2008
Posts: 470
Location: Dallas, TX

PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2008 6:48 am    Post subject:

nickage wrote:
jaqie wrote:
Yep. works fine inside a VM. I am one of the contributors to that thread you mention.

either use vmware (pay for) or virtualbox (free OSS) and run one inside the VM.
This method even lets you run a windows VM on a linux host and run mj inside that.


Can you run multiple VM inside your host. What OS is supported? System requirements?


You can run as many VM as you want. The real limitation is your resources (RAM, CPU, Diskspace). RAM is the big one because you allocate a set amount to each virtual machine. VMWare will run on a variety of hosts like Linux, FreeBSD, Solaris, XP, 2000, etc. It will run almost any OS as a VM too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nickage
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 20 May 2008
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2008 10:50 am    Post subject:

stroths wrote:
nickage wrote:
jaqie wrote:
Yep. works fine inside a VM. I am one of the contributors to that thread you mention.

either use vmware (pay for) or virtualbox (free OSS) and run one inside the VM.
This method even lets you run a windows VM on a linux host and run mj inside that.


Can you run multiple VM inside your host. What OS is supported? System requirements?


You can run as many VM as you want. The real limitation is your resources (RAM, CPU, Diskspace). RAM is the big one because you allocate a set amount to each virtual machine. VMWare will run on a variety of hosts like Linux, FreeBSD, Solaris, XP, 2000, etc. It will run almost any OS as a VM too.


is this the url for it? http://www.virtualbox.org/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stroths
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 02 Apr 2008
Posts: 470
Location: Dallas, TX

PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2008 1:02 pm    Post subject:

The official website is vmware.com, but you can get the free server version
HERE

If you want Microsoft's version of this, you can also get it free

HERE.

I prefer vmware myself as its more seasoned and works very well. However, either is a good choice considering the price (free)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nickage
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 20 May 2008
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2008 1:40 pm    Post subject:

stroths wrote:
The official website is vmware.com, but you can get the free server version
HERE

If you want Microsoft's version of this, you can also get it free

HERE.

I prefer vmware myself as its more seasoned and works very well. However, either is a good choice considering the price (free)


Is it easy to use? how much Ram should I allocate for each vrtual PC?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stroths
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 02 Apr 2008
Posts: 470
Location: Dallas, TX

PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2008 6:59 pm    Post subject:

nickage wrote:
stroths wrote:
The official website is vmware.com, but you can get the free server version
HERE

If you want Microsoft's version of this, you can also get it free

HERE.

I prefer vmware myself as its more seasoned and works very well. However, either is a good choice considering the price (free)


Is it easy to use? how much Ram should I allocate for each vrtual PC?


It's not that difficult to use IMO, and RAM allocation really depends on the OS and what you plan on using it for. If you really tweak the OS, you can lower the amount of RAM you need. For example, you could run a bare bones version of XP that you create with nlite and disable all the unneeded services. You could get away with 128mb RAM if you tweak it enough. I have a lot of RAM in my main system, so my XP test beds generally have 256mb+.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nickage
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 20 May 2008
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Tue May 27, 2008 9:56 pm    Post subject:

stroths wrote:
nickage wrote:
stroths wrote:
The official website is vmware.com, but you can get the free server version
HERE

If you want Microsoft's version of this, you can also get it free

HERE.

I prefer vmware myself as its more seasoned and works very well. However, either is a good choice considering the price (free)


Is it easy to use? how much Ram should I allocate for each vrtual PC?


It's not that difficult to use IMO, and RAM allocation really depends on the OS and what you plan on using it for. If you really tweak the OS, you can lower the amount of RAM you need. For example, you could run a bare bones version of XP that you create with nlite and disable all the unneeded services. You could get away with 128mb RAM if you tweak it enough. I have a lot of RAM in my main system, so my XP test beds generally have 256mb+.


I cannot get it to install my operating system on the virtual machine, I have tried vmware serever and workstation and sun virtual box. I pop in the XP disk it installs for a bit and prompts me to hit enter a few times and then it says that my disk is either not a proper windows disk or that it cant read it. Well it is a proper windows disk and it was just able to read it. there is not a scratch on it. I have xp home on the host and trying to install xp pro on the guest
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nickage
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 20 May 2008
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2008 7:02 am    Post subject:

stroths wrote:
nickage wrote:
stroths wrote:
The official website is vmware.com, but you can get the free server version
HERE

If you want Microsoft's version of this, you can also get it free

HERE.

I prefer vmware myself as its more seasoned and works very well. However, either is a good choice considering the price (free)


Is it easy to use? how much Ram should I allocate for each vrtual PC?


It's not that difficult to use IMO, and RAM allocation really depends on the OS and what you plan on using it for. If you really tweak the OS, you can lower the amount of RAM you need. For example, you could run a bare bones version of XP that you create with nlite and disable all the unneeded services. You could get away with 128mb RAM if you tweak it enough. I have a lot of RAM in my main system, so my XP test beds generally have 256mb+.


I got it installed ok except one the MJ on my virtual pc, no one can hear me and I cant hear them. I am using the sun virtual box
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Unofficial magicJack Forum -> magicJack Tips, Tricks, and Hacks All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Powered by phpBB Ultra Turbo Extended Edition Live © 2001-9999, phpBB Group
magicJack and magicJack Plus are trademarks of magicJack LLP. This website is in no way affiliated, endorsed, or sponsored by magicJack LLP, and is an unofficial forum for consumers to openly communicate regarding their experiences with the magicJack products.