Unofficial magicJack Forum

Unofficial magicJack Forum

Your Unofficial magicJack and magicJack Plus phone service information resource
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
A Fix for no sound in Vista

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Unofficial magicJack Forum -> Magic Jack Technical Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bsuds
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 17 Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Location: Kelowna BC Canada

PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2009 11:08 am    Post subject: A Fix for no sound in Vista

OK I have found a fix for this.

My problem was I could dial out but I could not hear anything after that (I could hear the dial tone)

The person I was calling could hear me but I could not hear them.

Go to Control panel/Hardware and Sound/Manage Audio Devices/Handset/Properties/Levels

The handset was disabled, click on it to enable and problem was solved

Now if someone can please tell me how to fix the loud Tone and or disconnect every 10 min I will be happy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
az2008
MagicJack Sensei


Joined: 20 Aug 2008
Posts: 1404
Location: Tempe, AZ

PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2009 12:14 pm    Post subject: Re: A Fix for no sound in Vista

bsuds wrote:
My problem was I could dial out but I could not hear anything after that (I could hear the dial tone). The person I was calling could hear me but I could not hear them.

Go to Control panel/Hardware and Sound/Manage Audio Devices/Handset/Properties/Levels

The handset was disabled, click on it to enable and problem was solved


How does that differ from going into the softphone's Menu->Volume/Headset control? A choice exists there to choose the handset.

(I'm not using Vista, the USB device nor a handset. I can't see what you do.).

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bsuds
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 17 Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Location: Kelowna BC Canada

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 11:10 am    Post subject:

The handset was selected there.
Everything appeared OK but I could not hear the person at the other end. I went thru all the troubleshooting BS with MJ's support and nothing worked till I found this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johnmc
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 19 Jan 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 11:03 pm    Post subject:

I am getting the same thing after resetting the software on the usb.
handset is enabled and has volume, but there is absoulty no sound during the call, have dialtone and the dialpad shows call going out.

I can not, I repeat, can not change the menu settings to handset and it stay.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Unofficial magicJack Forum -> Magic Jack Technical Support All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Powered by phpBB Ultra Turbo Extended Edition Live © 2001-9999, phpBB Group
magicJack and magicJack Plus are trademarks of magicJack LLP. This website is in no way affiliated, endorsed, or sponsored by magicJack LLP, and is an unofficial forum for consumers to openly communicate regarding their experiences with the magicJack products.