Unofficial magicJack Forum

Unofficial magicJack Forum

Your Unofficial magicJack and magicJack Plus phone service information resource
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Advice Needed - I get dial tone, but cannot make calls.

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Unofficial magicJack Forum -> magicJack Tips, Tricks, and Hacks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
aja0girl
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 20 Jul 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Jul 20, 2008 2:18 pm    Post subject: Advice Needed - I get dial tone, but cannot make calls.

I have reconfigured by DSL, and Router following those manufacturer's instructions, but I cannot make an outbound call. The instructions posted on www.magicjack.com were inadequate and the "live" support didn't work either. Is there some simple fix that I am missing?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aja0girl
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 20 Jul 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Jul 20, 2008 7:10 pm    Post subject: Re: Advice Needed - I get dial tone, but cannot make calls.

aja0girl wrote:
I have reconfigured by DSL, and Router following those manufacturer's instructions, but I cannot make an outbound call. The instructions posted on www.magicjack.com were inadequate and the "live" support didn't work either. Is there some simple fix that I am missing?


Okay, I give ... this thing sounded too good to be true and it seems that it is. It's going back.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
laserjobs
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 12 Nov 2007
Posts: 670

PostPosted: Sun Jul 20, 2008 9:52 pm    Post subject:

We don't care if you send it back since we have nothing to do with magicJack, however for most of us it does work well.

If you want to troubleshoot the device let us know. Sounds like an audio device problem, have you searhed the forum?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JohnnyFreightTRAIN
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 08 Aug 2008
Posts: 313

PostPosted: Thu Aug 28, 2008 12:48 pm    Post subject:

Well I'm sorry it doesn't work for you.
But, as laserjobs pointed out, we don't work for magicJack. We are just (for the most part) satisfied customers helping eachother and providing technical assistance. Magicjack tech support is a joke, so we join together for support. Wink

Obviously weather or not you return your magicJack, it won't affect any of us. And it certainly doesn't change the fact that it works.

Search the forum, there's more info on here to choke a horse.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dixonba
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 28 Feb 2008
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Aug 28, 2008 1:57 pm    Post subject:

sounds like there is something blocking magicjacks connection to the internet. Can you recieve calls? Can you make a call from the softphone using the headset option? Have you tried turning windows firewall off (or others like zonealarm)? Disable any virus scan port blocking? Can you actually access the internet from your pc? have you run magicfix (not sure if this will help)? Can you try another pc possibly? Try bypassing your linksys router temporarily to see if thats the culprit. Try a different phone?

Like others have said, magicjack works fine for most. I even have my dish network recievers (2) dialing out using modem functions. If I can do that, surely we can get yours working. Yes, tech support sucks but that's what this site is for.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fred66877
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 05 Sep 2008
Posts: 1
Location: California

PostPosted: Fri Sep 05, 2008 3:56 pm    Post subject:

Make sure Ports 5060 and 5070 UDP are opened up on your firewall. If you have DSL log in as ADMIN and change the settings, if you are working away from home make sure your Windows Firewall setting are opened up for 5060 & 5070. Good Luck.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jibu
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 26 Jun 2008
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Fri Sep 05, 2008 4:19 pm    Post subject:

Did you try a landline # or a cell phone #? See if it works on a landline or 800 #. Then, if it does work on those but not a cell phone (outside of your area code), maybe this thread might be useful: http://www.phoneservicesupport.com/cannot-call-cell-phones-out-of-area-code-t2795.html

I'm just guessing that this might be the issue, as this is a very recent issue that has been affecting many people when trying to make calls to cell phones that are outside of their area code.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
redrac
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 12 Jul 2008
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Sep 06, 2008 3:56 pm    Post subject:

My MJ sometimes stops working, about every 4 or 5 days, don't know why so I either reboot the computer or just unplug and replug MJ and that fixes it. I assume the problem is comcast cable since I have one of my computers that only downloads backup data once a day from the internet but sometimes I have to pull up a web page to get a connection. I thought it was always on.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Unofficial magicJack Forum -> magicJack Tips, Tricks, and Hacks All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Powered by phpBB Ultra Turbo Extended Edition Live © 2001-9999, phpBB Group
magicJack and magicJack Plus are trademarks of magicJack LLP. This website is in no way affiliated, endorsed, or sponsored by magicJack LLP, and is an unofficial forum for consumers to openly communicate regarding their experiences with the magicJack products.