Unofficial magicJack Forum

Unofficial magicJack Forum

Your Unofficial magicJack and magicJack Plus phone service information resource
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
All of a sudden...NO Dial Tone

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Unofficial magicJack Forum -> Magic Jack Technical Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
JimmyR
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 18 Jun 2008
Posts: 7
Location: Foster City, CA.

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 2:34 pm    Post subject: All of a sudden...NO Dial Tone

Hi,
I've had the MJ for only four days now and yesterday the dial tone on my handset is gone as is the ability to dial from the hand set.

The darn thing worked perfectly (it seem's) on the first and second day. I was able to dial from the hand set and got a good loud dial tone.

I can make phone call's from the soft phone (Magic Jack on the desktop) just fine and when I call myself from another number the hand set('s) rings and the call goes well Smile (with myself of course).

Three hours of going through hoops with the fine Sad staff at MJ didn't bring back my dial tone.

I have tried three different XP computers and three hand sets that all worked fine for the first two days of gleefull Magic Jack ownership, I'm 72 Smile and not a happy senior today..

Thanks for any ideas,

OLD JIM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
HendersonMike
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 09 Apr 2008
Posts: 274
Location: Henderson, Nevada state, usA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 4:08 pm    Post subject:

Just an idea that might be it

No Dial Tone Help ..... Maybe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JimmyR
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 18 Jun 2008
Posts: 7
Location: Foster City, CA.

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 4:56 pm    Post subject:

Thank you, Mike.

Boy I wish it was as simple as clearing the active new or last numbers dialed. In the past 2 day's of trying to get back hand set dailing and handset button function working again I must have cleared all calls made at least 30 times.

Doing multiple searches on this forum I believe I have covered most of the basic trouble shooting fixes that I am capable of doing. At this stage with my limited knowlege I'm thinking it must be some sort of MJ firmware or software update that's causing my problem.
I'm going to hang in there in hopes someone is having or has had the same problem. My forum searching skills probable need some assistance also..,

Again, thanks for the try Mike,

Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
gistek
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 17 Jun 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 6:58 pm    Post subject:

Do you leave your magicJack in overnight?

I've only been using mine a few days, but the day after I forgot to unplug it overnight, I had no dial tone until I unplugged it and let it cool down a little.

I also get no dial tone if my 'puter is in sleep or hibernate. Plus, when I wake the puter up, I have to unplug and reinsert the magicJack in order for my phone to have a dial tone.

It may be update related. Remember, this little birdie has to work with hundreds of variations of a dozen or more operating systems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
JimmyR
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 18 Jun 2008
Posts: 7
Location: Foster City, CA.

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 9:27 pm    Post subject:

"Do you leave your magicJack in overnight?"

Nope, none of the above. It's the MJ iitself. A friend of my kids brought his over an it worked fine in all my computers and all my wired phones.

I tried for a Magic Jack "chat" to get a replacement but they got me so pissed after "chatting" with them and going through hoops trouble shooting yesterday I decided to just send it back. Poor business IMO and if MJ has any chance they should clean up their support methods.

I purchased their 5year Platinum or premium plan whatever it's called and some of that $100 fee is margin gone.

Thanks for your help here guys, you have a very nice forum.

Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Darkman90808
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 27 Feb 2008
Posts: 701

PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2008 11:13 am    Post subject:

I believe some folks have been able to escalate their issue and get relief by sending an email directly to Dan Borislow.

Here's one I found w/ a Google search: [email protected]

If you do a search on the forum, you should also find one with his AOL account.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JimmyR
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 18 Jun 2008
Posts: 7
Location: Foster City, CA.

PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2008 6:46 pm    Post subject:

Thanks, Darkman.
I'll give him a try and if successful I will let everyone know.

I bave been doing a lot of forum searching and unless I missed something I'm the only one that has lost dialtone and useless handset key operation while at the same time everything else seem to work properly.

I took my MJ over to a pal's house this morning and watched his MJ working great while mine doesn't using his equipment.

I'm curious. Does the MJ generate the dial tone or does it come off the internet connection ??

Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
harrisms
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 17 Jun 2008
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Jun 21, 2008 7:19 am    Post subject:

Just had the same experience. Magicjack had been working fine for two days. Then last night, no dial tone. Tried all the usual things and still no tone. Could make calls using soft phone. Replaced the MagicJack with another one and all worked fine. Put the original back and no dial tone. Sounds like the hardware is going flakey.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JimmyR
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 18 Jun 2008
Posts: 7
Location: Foster City, CA.

PostPosted: Sat Jun 21, 2008 9:57 am    Post subject:

Well I have to admit "misery loves company" Smile. I thought I was all alone in the MJ world with this issue after vigorous searching of the forum. Sorry it had to be you joining me Harrisms. Thanks for letting me know the culprit is Magic Jack hardware or internal firmware and not my four computers or my handsets.

Probably just two cases are not enough but I hope MJ"s engineers can be made aware.

Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Unofficial magicJack Forum -> Magic Jack Technical Support All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Powered by phpBB Ultra Turbo Extended Edition Live © 2001-9999, phpBB Group
magicJack and magicJack Plus are trademarks of magicJack LLP. This website is in no way affiliated, endorsed, or sponsored by magicJack LLP, and is an unofficial forum for consumers to openly communicate regarding their experiences with the magicJack products.