Unofficial magicJack Forum

Unofficial magicJack Forum

Your Unofficial magicJack and magicJack Plus phone service information resource
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Any hope for spa2102 without proxy after recent mj-update ?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Unofficial magicJack Forum -> magicJack Tips, Tricks, and Hacks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nd_100
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 09 Sep 2009
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Apr 11, 2010 9:53 pm    Post subject: Any hope for spa2102 without proxy after recent mj-update ?

I had spa2102 running great since last december, and it stopped working (reg. failed) last week. So I dusted off the magicjack, and it did an update. After that, I extracted the new password(using sipdump, had to jump thru hoops but finally got the passwd).

I am still failing to register using spa2102. It looks like this change was more than just a password change. Any pointers are appreciated. The two routers I own dont support jffs, so running a pc for mjproxy is not desirable...

From sipdump, i am at useragent version 1.92.530e.

==============================================

SIPDump9.txt:User-Agent: MagicJack/1.92.530e (SJ Labs)
SIPDump9.txt:User-Agent: ENSR3.2.1.4-IS21-RMRG0-RG900-EP2110900
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TOF
MagicJack Contributor


Joined: 12 Nov 2007
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Mon Apr 12, 2010 9:47 pm    Post subject: Re: Any hope for spa2102 without proxy after recent mj-updat

nd_100 wrote:
I had spa2102 running great since last december, and it stopped working (reg. failed) last week. So I dusted off the magicjack, and it did an update. After that, I extracted the new password(using sipdump, had to jump thru hoops but finally got the passwd).

I am still failing to register using spa2102. It looks like this change was more than just a password change. Any pointers are appreciated. The two routers I own dont support jffs, so running a pc for mjproxy is not desirable...

From sipdump, i am at useragent version 1.92.530e.

==============================================

SIPDump9.txt:User-Agent: MagicJack/1.92.530e (SJ Labs)
SIPDump9.txt:User-Agent: ENSR3.2.1.4-IS21-RMRG0-RG900-EP2110900


My Password is still the same as of a dump last weekend. Took 6 dumps to get it but it's still the same. Nevertheless I'm tired of playing "hide the wienie" with Dan and the boys. I've put the MJ in the drawer and have gone to the netTalk.com TK6000 that works wonderfully well. Don't need the 'puter on either. Just like in the old days with ATA on MJ only better not having to dodge the MJ gang and the dreaded "Lucky YOu" green stuff.

So think about it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
newtoncd
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 09 Jan 2009
Posts: 216

PostPosted: Mon Apr 12, 2010 10:22 pm    Post subject: Re: Any hope for spa2102 without proxy after recent mj-updat

I think the tk6000 has massive potential, but I had to return mine. It was just too unreliable, but that was back in December. I still read the forums, they are definitely making headway.

But, they still have a way to replace a landline .... I hope they push magicJack:

1) 90 minute call limit (not a problem for most people)

2) The keep alive issue still seems to be a problem for some people

3) Weekends seem to have spotty service

4) Some users are experiencing a transfer tone/high pitch sound

I hope Nettalk takes off (and soon) ... I think it would force Dan to finally offer a BYOD type system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nostrodamus
MagicJack Contributor


Joined: 28 Apr 2008
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Mon Apr 19, 2010 3:39 pm    Post subject:

Does the NetTalk TK6000 have a better selection of area codes than MJ does?

I've had the MJ since August 2007 and still don't have a local phone number. The current list of available area codes on the MagicJack website doesn't have ANY listed in my state, so I don't expect this will change. I have incoming calls routed through Google Voice, so that gives me a "local" number, but I wouldn't want to trade one such set up for another, even if I could get off the damn dongle with the TK 6000.

I do find it odd that NetTalk won't even publish their list of area codes on their website, which all other VOIP providers (even Skype) do, to my knowledge.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nd_100
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 09 Sep 2009
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon May 03, 2010 11:45 am    Post subject:

fyi, I am now able to register my spa2102 correctly WITHOUT mjproxy. Based on one of the suggestions on this great forum, I learned that since my spa2102's WAN was static ip and i didnt specify DNS server, that was causing it to not register. I put in the DNS server entry, and bingo...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rlwatson
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 18 May 2009
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri May 07, 2010 12:42 am    Post subject:

Can you give us a step by step
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nd_100
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 09 Sep 2009
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri May 07, 2010 3:41 am    Post subject:

I had setup my spa2102 per instructions floating around on this forum. Nothing fancy, just basic sip information, and it worked just fine for last 5-6 months. In april, it would not register anymore, and i pulled new password from sip dump of magicjack.exe But it just wasnt registering after that. After setting the DNS Server manually, it registered and is working ok... Proxy server is same talk4free.com here locally in washington... Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vzlarwpx
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 04 Jul 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Jul 24, 2010 9:25 pm    Post subject: MJ without proxy instructions

nd_100, would it be possible for you to provide some screen shots of your setup or the step by step? I have the dns specified on my SPA2102 but I still need to run the mjproxy in order for it to work.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nd_100
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 09 Sep 2009
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Aug 03, 2010 1:02 am    Post subject:

I just followed the instructions found in this forum. I know that some folks had posted the screenshots of their spa2102 configuration, so i just copied those settings, nothing special...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Unofficial magicJack Forum -> magicJack Tips, Tricks, and Hacks All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Powered by phpBB Ultra Turbo Extended Edition Live © 2001-9999, phpBB Group
magicJack and magicJack Plus are trademarks of magicJack LLP. This website is in no way affiliated, endorsed, or sponsored by magicJack LLP, and is an unofficial forum for consumers to openly communicate regarding their experiences with the magicJack products.