magicJack and MagicJack Plus Support, Reviews, FAQs and Hacks

magicJack and MagicJack Plus Support, Reviews, FAQs and Hacks

magicJack and magicJack Plus Unofficial Technical Support. Your Magic Jack and Magic Jack Plus phone service information resource
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Canada and other stupid magic tricks

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    magicJack and MagicJack Plus Support, Reviews, FAQs and Hacks -> magicJack Tips, Tricks, and Hacks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Scotty
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 29 Apr 2008
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Fri May 02, 2008 3:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, after dialling *674*164390000 ... still the call does not go through.

This MagicJack is more of a pain in the butt now.... Chatted with MJ Tech.. LOL... they told me to change my phone! What I don't understand is .. I can make locals in the Boston area, 800 line works, calling to cellular provides here in Canada (Fido & Telus) but trying to call locally here in the Toronto, ONT area just doesn't work. I'll check the proxy once I get back home Stewart and let you know. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scotty
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 29 Apr 2008
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2008 3:06 pm    Post subject: It works....... Reply with quote

Well, took the MJ to work - plugged the MJ in - waited for it to download its thing... and then dialled out... guess what..... the MJ works like a charm on my work computer.... just have to figure out what's up with my computer at home!!!!!!!!!

Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
omega10x
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 07 May 2008
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Fri May 09, 2008 8:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I havnt had An issue with magic Jack (calling in or out) to landline/voip/ or cellular,
and im in Southwestern Ontairo,

i just dial the number from the softphone
*** Note i can dial from the phone itself, but sometimes i have issues***
as long as i use the softphone it works like a charm,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WildmanMW
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 26 Jan 2008
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon May 19, 2008 6:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

arrrrgh!! I'm completely brain fried. First off, the spoofing software rocks!! Unfortunately, it just stopped working on my vista computer (it still works on the other MJ on my xp). I had the old software version of spoof and that wasn't working anymore and I just tried the new version. No mater what combination I try (and I have tried with the *) the call from my MJ always shows my MJ number. Any suggestions? I would pull my hair out but unfortunately I already shave my head so that option is out.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
telman
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 23 May 2008
Posts: 1
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon May 26, 2008 7:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The spoofing works from the softphone, but not any other phone if dialed from it. Does anyone have a solution for that?

The reason is I've set it up through my phone system and would like it to work as with the softphone.

Dave
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rootsnluv
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 19 Jun 2008
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 6:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

could anyone give me the site to download a spoofing software so l can change my number whenever l am calling?
l see some of you already enjoying the spoofing thing , help me out too guys and please take me through how to use is since l a tech festus.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
edwardk
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 28 Apr 2008
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2008 2:58 pm    Post subject: forum Reply with quote

rootsnluv: See this forum http://www.phoneservicesupport.com/outbound-caller-id-blocking-and-spoofing-t68.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
arnab
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 20 Jul 2008
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Jul 20, 2008 1:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks a lot for the tips. i haven't been able to make rogers/fido cellphone calls to toronto. it works fine for rogers/fido cellphones outside the city. with the *67+4*16+.....works fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lmcjipo
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 04 Jul 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Dec 25, 2008 2:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

arnab wrote:
thanks a lot for the tips. i haven't been able to make rogers/fido cellphone calls to toronto. it works fine for rogers/fido cellphones outside the city. with the *67+4*16+.....works fine.


I just purchased MagicJack and noticed that I am having the same issue with calling Montreal cellphone numbers (I've only tried Rogers/Fido numbers).

The "*" tricks that I've read about on the top of this thread don't appear to work.

When I call my Montreal cellphone number with MagicJack, MagicJack either just hangs up immediately and I get a dialtone or the phone appears as if it is ringing but it is in fact not (I am in front of my cellphone).

I tried calling landline Montreal numbers and it works without any issues.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
az2008
MagicJack Sensei


Joined: 20 Aug 2008
Posts: 1404
Location: Tempe, AZ

PostPosted: Thu Dec 25, 2008 2:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

lmcjipo wrote:
The "*" tricks that I've read about on the top of this thread don't appear to work.


It seems to be due to the upgrade which began 12/21. See:

http://www.phoneservicesupport.com/67-trick-doesn-t-work-with-december-17th-version-of-update-t4009.html

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
abidou100
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 04 Feb 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2009 2:52 pm    Post subject: email Reply with quote

Hi,how do i change my new e-mail to Magicjack?Got a new email and just don't know where to go.If they have to write to me,they will not get in touch with me.Thanks Tom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
murphy
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 21 Jan 2009
Posts: 184
Location: Pennsylvania

PostPosted: Wed Feb 04, 2009 2:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Log into your MJ account and change it.

http://my.magicjack.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wazil01
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 17 Jun 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Jun 17, 2009 1:01 pm    Post subject: Re: Canada and other stupid magic tricks Reply with quote

y
doesn this work for me



Stewart wrote:
It appears that inserting a * after the first digit of a number changes the selected carrier, providing a workaround for various troubles.

Examples:

4*167895161 -- call Canada reliably.
8*004377950 -- sends your MJ number as ANI, instead of Choice One's (also spoofable). Useful when calling companies that use ANI to identify you or your location.
2*128675309 -- workaround for present spoofing woes.
5*122345789 (where 512-234-5789 is your own MJ number) -- test if your MJ is reachable from the PSTN (should show incoming on softphone and go to VM after 4 rings.

Sorry, I don't know whether you can dial this way from a phone connected to a MJ (they're painting my flat and the MJ is in a closet behind the plastic sheeting). Someone please try this for me. If it doesn't work, see if it works dialing from the softphone. I'll then edit this post accordingly.

Edit: It turns out that when dialing via MJ, you can't call with the above formats, because the software thinks that the number is complete after 10 characters and the last digit never gets sent. However, if you precede the number by *67 (normally would block caller ID but that's not implemented yet), then the call will go as expected. For example, dial *678*004377950. (If you are using an ATA or IP phone and have the dial plan set correctly, the *67 is not needed.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wazil01
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 17 Jun 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Jun 17, 2009 1:04 pm    Post subject: cant call all government number Reply with quote

i tried using *678*882584259 but its doesnt work for me wat can i do to call 1888 numbers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GuyOnTheAir
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 11 Feb 2008
Posts: 328
Location: Greater Los Angeles, CA

PostPosted: Thu Jun 18, 2009 11:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Most of the tips in this thread have been rendered unuseable by updates to the mJ software. Sorry!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger
cbert1
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 12 Jan 2009
Posts: 22
Location: Montreal, Quebec

PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2009 7:17 pm    Post subject: Area code for canada avaible Reply with quote

Since 10 november canadian can have area code in some city.

PS all the slot in the 514 area are already gone
extra of 10$ a year for a canadian number

see at the end of the page

http://www.magicjack.com/9/areacodes.asp


Available Manitoba - Winnipeg 204
Available Ontario - Hamilton 905
Available Ontario - London 226
Available Ontario - Niagara Falls 289
Available Ontario - Ottawa 613
Available Ontario - Toronto 416
Available Ontario - Windsor 519
Available Quebec - Montreal 514
Available Quebec - Quebec City 418

Update:

Canadian customers will NOT be able to switch to a new Canadian number one time for free. It will be free Only if you select a US number for your second choice........Answer from MJ second level agent on December 4.

So to change a Canadian number you need to purchase a new device !!!!!! and the pay 10$ / year Extra

So check before with live agent of MJ if your area code still have some slot available
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cbert1
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 12 Jan 2009
Posts: 22
Location: Montreal, Quebec

PostPosted: Sun Dec 06, 2009 8:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BTW.... You have access to the Canadian number only in the registration process of a new device.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bfksc
MagicJack Contributor


Joined: 07 Oct 2009
Posts: 62
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Mon Dec 07, 2009 2:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cbert1 wrote:
BTW.... You have access to the Canadian number only in the registration process of a new device.

I just finished a chat to see if they have any plans to allow changing to a CDN number online through your account settings:

tech: Changing to Canadian numbers on your existing magicJack phone number is not yet possible on your magicJack account.

me: Ok so are there plans to enable this feature in the future?

tech: Since we are continuing to work in upgrading our system to give you the best service with our product, I hope that feature will be available for you the soonest possible.

tech: Please rest assured that your concern is being looked into even as we chat. We appreciate your patience.


All of that sounded kind of like a canned response from techs copy and pasting responses into the chat. But since they added CDN numbers, perhaps they can add the option to change to a CDN number soon. I wouldn't mind paying an extra $10/year for that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cbert1
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 12 Jan 2009
Posts: 22
Location: Montreal, Quebec

PostPosted: Tue Dec 08, 2009 9:11 am    Post subject: Canadian Area Codes Reply with quote

Canadian Area Codes.
(status of the number available by area code from December 8, 2009)


Available Alberta - Calgary 403 ==== 403-800-xxxx =====
Available Alberta - Edmonton 780 ==== 780-800-xxxx =====
Available B C - N Vancouver 604 ==== 604-210-xxxx =====
Available B C - Vancouver 604 ==== 604-800-xxxx =====
Available B C- W Vancouver 604 ==== 604-229-xxxx =====
Available Manitoba - Winnipeg 204 ==== 204-272-xxxx =====
Available Nova Scotia - Halifax 902 ==== 902-982-xxxx =====
Available Ontario - Hamilton 905 ======= EMPTY =======
Available Ontario - London 226 ======= EMPTY =======
Available Ontario - Niagara Falls 289 ======= EMPTY =======
Available Ontario - Oakville 289 ==== 289-813-xxxx =====
Available Ontario - Burlington 289 ==== 289-812-xxxx =====
Available Ontario - Ottawa 613 ======= EMPTY =======
Available Ontario - Toronto 647 ======= EMPTY =======
Available Ontario - Toronto 416 ======= NOT AVAILABLE !!!
Available Ontario - Windsor 519 ======= EMPTY =======
Available Quebec - Hull 819 ==== 819-800-xxxx =====
Available Quebec - Montreal 514 ======= EMPTY =======
Available Quebec - Quebec City 418 ==== Only 3 numbers left =====


PS....Canadian customers will NOT be able to switch to a new Canadian number one time for free. It will be free Only if you select a US number for your second choice........Answer from higher level support of MagicJack on December 4.


Last edited by cbert1 on Wed Dec 09, 2009 7:36 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cbert1
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 12 Jan 2009
Posts: 22
Location: Montreal, Quebec

PostPosted: Wed Dec 09, 2009 7:36 am    Post subject: Canadian Area Codes Reply with quote

Canadian Area Codes.
(UPDATE status of the number available by area code from December 9, 2009)

Available Quebec - Quebec City 418 ======= EMPTY =======
.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cbert1
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 12 Jan 2009
Posts: 22
Location: Montreal, Quebec

PostPosted: Fri Dec 11, 2009 8:10 am    Post subject: Canadian Area Codes Reply with quote

Canadian Area Codes.
(UPDATE status of the number available by area code from December 11, 2009)

Available Ontario - London 226 ======= (226) 777-xxxx ======= NEW NUMBERS ADDED
Available Ontario - Hamilton 905 ======= (905) 581-xxxx ======= NEW NUMBERS ADDED


Last edited by cbert1 on Sat Dec 12, 2009 5:31 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cbert1
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 12 Jan 2009
Posts: 22
Location: Montreal, Quebec

PostPosted: Sat Dec 12, 2009 3:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

new update go to the link :
http://www.phoneservicesupport.com/post50475.html#50475
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CaBooSe
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 06 Oct 2009
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat Dec 12, 2009 9:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

just got a mtl # todat tks all .....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mr_Dasher
MagicJack Contributor


Joined: 12 Dec 2008
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Tue Dec 15, 2009 10:06 pm    Post subject: There are 416 area codes available for Toronto Reply with quote

Though it was reported that there were no 416 area codes I took a chance and bought another MJ with hopes that they would be added at a future date. If they weren't I'd eventually take a 647.

When I went to register my MJ the 416 area was available. After all these years I finally have a Toronto number. i have to admit that it's a strange number 416.900.XXXX . I've never heard of a 900 being used anywhere.

D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bfksc
MagicJack Contributor


Joined: 07 Oct 2009
Posts: 62
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed Dec 16, 2009 8:23 am    Post subject: Re: There are 416 area codes available for Toronto Reply with quote

Mr_Dasher wrote:
When I went to register my MJ the 416 area was available. After all these years I finally have a Toronto number. i have to admit that it's a strange number 416.900.XXXX . I've never heard of a 900 being used anywhere.
D

Just an FYI - looks like the 900 exchange is used by Iristel:

http://reversephonelookup.intomobile.com/416-area-code

Which means there should be lots of 416 numbers available.
Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Athanasian_Creed
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 03 Mar 2010
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 10:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just registered today for a 416 number and was told that there were none available - had to take a 647 #. Oh well, my cell phone is in the 647 exchange too so i'm not complaining.

BTW, did Canadians who requested a Canadian # have to pay $10.00 US for it?? I did.



Ray
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kawikaratekid
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 18 Apr 2010
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri Apr 30, 2010 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried to register for a 416 and a 647 number but they were all gone.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    magicJack and MagicJack Plus Support, Reviews, FAQs and Hacks -> magicJack Tips, Tricks, and Hacks All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Powered by phpBB Ultra Turbo Extended Edition Live © 2001-9999, phpBB Group
magicJack and magicJack Plus are trademarks of magicJack LLP. This website is in no way affiliated, endorsed, or sponsored by magicJack LLP, and is an unofficial forum for consumers to openly communicate regarding their experiences with the magicJack products.