Unofficial magicJack Forum

Unofficial magicJack Forum

Your Unofficial magicJack and magicJack Plus phone service information resource
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Magic Jack connect to House Wiring

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Unofficial magicJack Forum -> magicJack Tips, Tricks, and Hacks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
brownchristian
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 24 Feb 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 10:19 pm    Post subject: Magic Jack connect to House Wiring

Can I backfeed my house wiring with my magic jack? I have tried it and it doesn't work.

It does work connected directly to a phone.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wease
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 23 Jun 2008
Posts: 27

PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 10:25 pm    Post subject:

Work great in my house.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brownchristian
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 24 Feb 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 10:32 pm    Post subject:

Wonder if the length of wire is a problem. Probably 20 feet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
redpepper
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 13 Oct 2009
Posts: 501

PostPosted: Wed Feb 24, 2010 10:46 pm    Post subject:

The magicJack USB dongle is really not electrically designed and engineered to handle doing that.

Cut your risks and headaches and get yourself a decent multi-handset cordless phone system to use throughout your house. If you use a WiFi router, check what frequency it uses and pick a cordless phone system that operates at a different frequency.

You should also use a telephone cord from the magicJack USB dongle to the cordless phone system base unit that is no longer than 6 feet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kuhntech
MagicJack Contributor


Joined: 15 Dec 2009
Posts: 63
Location: Chico, CA

PostPosted: Thu Feb 25, 2010 2:43 pm    Post subject:

This might seem obvious, but did you make sure you disconnected the landline service providers line coming into your telephone junction box?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
brownchristian
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 24 Feb 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2010 7:32 am    Post subject:

I got this to work yesterday. I currently have cable internet so my phone line is not used for internet usage but I am about to get DSL which means my phone line will be used. Will this interfere with the Magic Jack signal being fed thru the house wiring?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nobody beats the Whiz!
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 26 Oct 2009
Posts: 559

PostPosted: Fri Feb 26, 2010 8:10 am    Post subject:

brownchristian wrote:
I got this to work yesterday. I currently have cable internet so my phone line is not used for internet usage but I am about to get DSL which means my phone line will be used. Will this interfere with the Magic Jack signal being fed thru the house wiring?


Yes. It will take some (relatively) simple changes of wires.

DSL should enter the house and go to the modem on a cable pair separate from the rest of the house.

At its simplest, it would only require a change of wires at the outside terminal and a two line splitter at the jack near the modem/MJ. Two line splitters are usually the kind of splitter with three ports. (One port for pair one, second port for pair two, third port for both)

The DSL comes out of the jack (and splitter) on pair two, the MJ dial tone goes back in the jack (via the splitter) on pair one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
srvctek
MagicJack Expert


Joined: 09 Jan 2009
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Sat Feb 27, 2010 7:00 pm    Post subject:

works fine as long as there isnt too much resistance
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mememe1234
MagicJack User


Joined: 10 Jan 2009
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 1:48 am    Post subject:

First of all, go outside and open the box where your dsl gets in. Make sure only dsl pairs connected with the cable from the provider.

Then you will need a spliter to separate line 1 and line 2. By default telephone cable running inside the house has two lines built in. It does not matter if your dsl is on line 1 or line 2, you just connect your dsl modem to whatever line that gives you solid dsl indicator light. The other line will be used to feed mj signal.

You may want to have another spliter which splits one line into two lines (has nothing to do with line 1 or 2, it just make a duplication of the same line). You then feed one to your phone right next to your pc or ata box and feed the other into the wall. You are good to go. Plug all your phones into the phone ports in your house and enjoy the phones you already have.

I had it worked many years ago at my 1st house with stand alone dsl and voip phone. Now at my second house, had the phone guy wired the dsl into cat5 cable and then back feed ata box to phone ports, as wi-fi works very well and had no use of cat5 cables inside the house.

Hope this helps. Not sure the name of those spliters, but if you go to radioshack and explain what you need or google it and then find a better place to buy. Radioshack used to charge much more than it worth, buy online may get you muck better deal if you are not in need urgently.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mememe1234
MagicJack User


Joined: 10 Jan 2009
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 12:49 pm    Post subject:

Found links for the two spliters

RJ-11 2-Port Phone Line Splitter
http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.22009

RJ11 Phone Cable 1-to-2 Female-Female Spliter Coupler
http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.2671

Free shipping and total is $2.68, takes 5-7 business days to deliver.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nickp
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 03 Mar 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Mar 03, 2010 11:19 pm    Post subject:

I had standard AT&T phone service. I purchased a powered USB hub and am running the MJ through it on my MAC. I then disconnected the AT&T line in the basement, on the punch block where it came in from the outside. All of my home phones ring including my DirecTV and Alarm system. I did the same thing at my brother's house and worked great.

I think the trick may be to run the MJ off a powered USB hub so there are not fluctuations in power to the dongle.

Good luck...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Unofficial magicJack Forum -> magicJack Tips, Tricks, and Hacks All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Powered by phpBB Ultra Turbo Extended Edition Live © 2001-9999, phpBB Group
magicJack and magicJack Plus are trademarks of magicJack LLP. This website is in no way affiliated, endorsed, or sponsored by magicJack LLP, and is an unofficial forum for consumers to openly communicate regarding their experiences with the magicJack products.