Unofficial magicJack Forum

Unofficial magicJack Forum

Your Unofficial magicJack and magicJack Plus phone service information resource
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
magicjack and bittorrent

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Unofficial magicJack Forum -> Magic Jack Technical Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
robot
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 08 Mar 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat Mar 15, 2008 5:07 pm    Post subject: magicjack and bittorrent

"i have never seen a simpler to use product. You simply plug it into your computer, plug in your phone, and start calling. The call quality is perfect... this device is so simple my grandmother could install one on her pc and begin"

thats what it says on my package!!!!!!! i dont think my grandma could get one to work!!!!!!

running a bittorrent client and magic jack needs some adjustment depending on your bandwidth. first i used a tcpip patch increasing from 10 to 100 restarted the computer. then went into my bittorrent client and capped my upload rate to 20 kbs, these numbers will be different depending on your connection.i talked on the phone with someone while the bittorrent client was running to figure my max upload rate at 20 kbs call is perfect at 21 kbs the call has a delay after these adjustments madicjack works fine. so i adjusted my client to do max upload when i am asleep and 20 kbs during times i use the phone. still cant get the caller id to work!!!!!

i have left some pretty nasty comments about magicjack on this forum without making any adjustment to my computer first!!!!....but the way magicjack advertises you should only have to plug it in hense the quote on my package
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gooney
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 09 Feb 2008
Posts: 382
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah

PostPosted: Sat Mar 15, 2008 7:34 pm    Post subject: Re: magicjack and bittorrent

robot wrote:
"i have never seen a simpler to use product. You simply plug it into your computer, plug in your phone, and start calling. The call quality is perfect... this device is so simple my grandmother could install one on her pc and begin"

thats what it says on my package!!!!!!! i dont think my grandma could get one to work!!!!!!

running a bittorrent client and magic jack needs some adjustment depending on your bandwidth. first i used a tcpip patch increasing from 10 to 100 restarted the computer. then went into my bittorrent client and capped my upload rate to 20 kbs, these numbers will be different depending on your connection.i talked on the phone with someone while the bittorrent client was running to figure my max upload rate at 20 kbs call is perfect at 21 kbs the call has a delay after these adjustments madicjack works fine. so i adjusted my client to do max upload when i am asleep and 20 kbs during times i use the phone. still cant get the caller id to work!!!!!

i have left some pretty nasty comments about magicjack on this forum without making any adjustment to my computer first!!!!....but the way magicjack advertises you should only have to plug it in hense the quote on my package

The quote is true... I plug it in 2 pc's and 1 laptop, let it do its thing a few seconds later i am on the phone.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HolmanGT
MagicJack Sensei


Joined: 08 Jan 2008
Posts: 1127
Location: Saint George, UT

PostPosted: Sat Mar 15, 2008 7:53 pm    Post subject:

Robot,

What is your upload and down load bandwidth?

Also if you don't mind me asking why are you allowing your computer to be used as a file server for somebody else's benefit. Most ISP(s) don't give you that much upload bandwidth to prevent people from doing exactly what you are doing.

If you want to share files with someone just upload them to a free server like 4shared in the middle of the night when you don't require YOUR computer for YOUR use.

It is nice to share, but not at the expense of not being able to use your own machine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
msiam
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 15 Nov 2007
Posts: 474
Location: WI

PostPosted: Sun Mar 16, 2008 1:41 am    Post subject:

Amen HolmanGT.. and robot..whats with the annoying flashing thing for the avatar?? I really hate flashing crap..glad you enjoy it, tho.. could you maybe put it on your PC and watch it there?? I just know you're gonna say somp'm bout my goofy frog.. ain't you?? yeah.. go ahead.. say it...But, hey.. He ain't Blinking!! If ya want the avatar to blink, at least slow it down.. Damn, thats annoyin..I guess, tho, I could avoid your posts I cant miss them tho.. I guess they don't let you turn the lights on in your cop mobile..so are you pulling us over to give us a ticket for an unruly MJ??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
robot
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 08 Mar 2008
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Mar 16, 2008 2:42 am    Post subject:

i have taken the flashy avatar off......sorry to disturb
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
saxman
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 25 Feb 2008
Posts: 395

PostPosted: Sun Mar 16, 2008 9:47 am    Post subject:

I do the big up and downloads at night on the torrent sites as well. I don't mind using up the bandwidth at 3 am-I'm in Dreamland anyway and makes no difference how good or bad the phone is or how fast the connection. I have a question for you you guys on the hardware I just bought and what it's potential is as far as improving the system. I have the Hawking HBB1 Broadband Booster and I installed the new firmware for it. I also needed to install a network Switch because I have no seperate router from the modem. The switch is a Linksys 10/100 5 port ethernet switch-the SD205-Is there any adjustments or tweaks I should do with this? I can't see anything that needs to be adjusted but then I've never owned one of these so I don't really know what's needed as far as tuning it up. Since plugging everything in, the speed has increased and the calls are mostly real clear all the time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
msiam
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 15 Nov 2007
Posts: 474
Location: WI

PostPosted: Sun Mar 16, 2008 12:34 pm    Post subject:

thanks robot.. now I can "look" at you..lol..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HolmanGT
MagicJack Sensei


Joined: 08 Jan 2008
Posts: 1127
Location: Saint George, UT

PostPosted: Sun Mar 16, 2008 1:50 pm    Post subject:

saxman,

First there is no adjustments on a SOHO switch, but I am curious what you are using it for? Do you have more than one computer?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gooney
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 09 Feb 2008
Posts: 382
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah

PostPosted: Sun Mar 16, 2008 2:28 pm    Post subject:

HolmanGT wrote:
saxman,

First there is no adjustments on a SOHO switch, but I am curious what you are using it for? Do you have more than one computer?


Maybe he loves the movies hahahaha j/p
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Unofficial magicJack Forum -> Magic Jack Technical Support All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Powered by phpBB Ultra Turbo Extended Edition Live © 2001-9999, phpBB Group
magicJack and magicJack Plus are trademarks of magicJack LLP. This website is in no way affiliated, endorsed, or sponsored by magicJack LLP, and is an unofficial forum for consumers to openly communicate regarding their experiences with the magicJack products.