Unofficial magicJack Forum

Unofficial magicJack Forum

Your Unofficial magicJack and magicJack Plus phone service information resource
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
MagicJack+At&t DSL

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Unofficial magicJack Forum -> Magic Jack Technical Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Jbrizzel
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 12 May 2010
Posts: 13
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Wed May 12, 2010 4:08 pm    Post subject: MagicJack+At&t DSL

Hi everyone my 1st post on the forums. I have somewhat of a issue and maybe someone can help me on what to do.

I had at&t yesterday that I had for over 10yrs+ that i just canceled. I am only paying for my DSL line the only thing wrong when magic jack is plugged in is I hear 2 dial tones running in the background.

The DSL line has to have a dial tone in order for my DSL to work from what I know.

What will I have to do in order to get this to work? Thanks if you can answer me.

PS: I have a 3MB connection down and 256kbp up.

Also: When I got magic jack up it works with all my phones in the house I believe it's just that there are 2 dial tones in the background and any call I make it's still using my canceled at&t line instead when it's already canceled.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
bitstopjoe
Future magicJack CEO


Joined: 13 Sep 2008
Posts: 2844
Location: North East Pennsylvania

PostPosted: Wed May 12, 2010 4:40 pm    Post subject:

This should help

http://www.phoneservicesupport.com/whole-house-wiring-no-problem-t7918.html

Joe Sica
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Jbrizzel
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 12 May 2010
Posts: 13
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2010 1:41 am    Post subject:

Thanks for the link.

Does anyone have anymore information on my problem what knows what I am going through?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Nobody beats the Whiz!
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 26 Oct 2009
Posts: 559

PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2010 7:04 am    Post subject:

The first link provided to you pretty much covered it.

You are physically connecting two phone lines to the same pair of copper wires.

You need to move one phone line to the second pair.

It would be easier to move your DSL line to pair 2 coming from the terminal outside, that way you can pump MJ dial tone through the house jacks on the pair they are already connected to (likely pair 1).

There are many, many threads covering this topic.

Here's another one, for example.

http://www.phoneservicesupport.com/magic-jack-connect-to-house-wiring-t8565.html


You also need to clarify with AT&T about your "disconnected" line. Find out if they even offer DSL without a phone line. It is called either a "Dry Loop" or "Naked DSL."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kuhntech
MagicJack Contributor


Joined: 15 Dec 2009
Posts: 63
Location: Chico, CA

PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2010 2:20 pm    Post subject:

I have the same setup, meaning AT&T DSL without a phone line. I do not have a dial tone on my line. I can plug a phone in and there is nothing but dead air on the other end. Joe and the Whiz have given you great ideas. I would call AT&T and mention "no voice line" and make sure they have actually "cut" you phone line.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
onlyme
MagicJack User


Joined: 05 Apr 2009
Posts: 35

PostPosted: Thu May 13, 2010 10:38 pm    Post subject:

I agree, I'd bet you still have a landline signal still being pumped into your house.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jbrizzel
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 12 May 2010
Posts: 13
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Mon May 17, 2010 4:37 pm    Post subject:

Thanks for all your replies.

So even if I do this re-wiring method do you think there will still be 2 phone lines running in the background?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
crackerjack
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 16 Nov 2007
Posts: 784

PostPosted: Mon May 17, 2010 4:49 pm    Post subject:

Jbrizzel wrote:
Thanks for all your replies.

So even if I do this re-wiring method do you think there will still be 2 phone lines running in the background?


Not designed that way. Contact ATT and make sure both the billing and landline service have been quashed.

What happens when you call your cancelled landline number?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jbrizzel
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 12 May 2010
Posts: 13
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Mon May 17, 2010 6:44 pm    Post subject:

It says the number is no longer in service, please stay on the line for further assistance when I call from my cell phone.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
trek101
MagicJack User


Joined: 16 Nov 2008
Posts: 41
Location: EL87qt

PostPosted: Sat May 22, 2010 12:29 am    Post subject:

Pending on your landline carrier; most likely the reason that you still have dialtone after canceling your landline number and keeping the your DSL portion. What you now have is coined the term of "express dialtone"; Ma Bell keeps the dialtone active even though you are on "naked"/dry DSL service so that you are able to make 911 emergency calls. Of course when you try to dial out with a normal number you will get an automated message to hang up and dial a special number to start new service.

My parents still have dialtone even though they have Ma Bell's DSL services due state law; I ran a dedicated feed from their demarc to to the DSL modem and placed a "bat phone" (i.e red phone) so they are able to make 911 calls. From there, I isolated the rest of the house wiring from the demarc and reverse fed dialtone from the MJ dongle. In my opinion they have a bit more peace of mind if there is an issue with their computer or internet; a hardline with dialtone they can contact emergency services is available just as long as the line has not been physically compromised and a mobile phone for backup...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jbrizzel
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 12 May 2010
Posts: 13
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2010 8:40 am    Post subject:

So am I completely screwed? Or can I still use the wiring trick to pull this off?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Nobody beats the Whiz!
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 26 Oct 2009
Posts: 559

PostPosted: Mon May 24, 2010 9:37 am    Post subject:

Jbrizzel wrote:
So am I completely screwed? Or can I still use the wiring trick to pull this off?


The answers have been provided. This appears to be beyond your technical comprehension, and there is no shame in that. We all have our talents.

Yes, it is still possible (depending on your wiring). However, you will likely need to enlist the help of a knowledgeable friend, or seek a professional.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jbrizzel
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 12 May 2010
Posts: 13
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Wed Jun 02, 2010 8:13 am    Post subject:

Alright so if it's still possible then Just use that complete whole house wiring method?

Thanks for all of your inputs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
kuhntech
MagicJack Contributor


Joined: 15 Dec 2009
Posts: 63
Location: Chico, CA

PostPosted: Wed Jun 02, 2010 11:25 am    Post subject:

I guess we will know if he screwed up his DSL line if he doesn't repost HAHA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Jbrizzel
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 12 May 2010
Posts: 13
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Wed Jun 02, 2010 12:02 pm    Post subject:

kuhntech wrote:
I guess we will know if he screwed up his DSL line if he doesn't repost HAHA


Nope, I'm not touching it. I got a At&t repair person coming out tomorrow to check the lines out for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Jbrizzel
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 12 May 2010
Posts: 13
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2010 5:14 pm    Post subject:

Here's a picture I took of my wiring box I took yesterday when the at&t guy was here:

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
kuhntech
MagicJack Contributor


Joined: 15 Dec 2009
Posts: 63
Location: Chico, CA

PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2010 7:37 pm    Post subject:

How much did AT&T charge you to come out? Did he get your problem fixed? Do you still have a dial tone on your DSL line?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Jbrizzel
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 12 May 2010
Posts: 13
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat Jun 05, 2010 8:05 am    Post subject:

kuhntech wrote:
How much did AT&T charge you to come out? Did he get your problem fixed? Do you still have a dial tone on your DSL line?


Yeah, he fixed my DSL connection that I have been having troubles for over 2yrs and there was a short somewhere in between my house.

So he just ran a cat 5 cable across my house line top to my room and my connection has never given out again.

As for my magic-jack i finally got it to work (not from the new install) but I just ran it straight to my computer and will just use it in my bedroom and I got other bases in the house for wireless calls.

And kuhntech, as for the cost, I didn't get charged a penny. It's there job "at&t" to get your internet up and working if your having a problems.

I thanks each and every one of you for the time and effort for getting my help.

-Jbrizzel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Unofficial magicJack Forum -> Magic Jack Technical Support All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Powered by phpBB Ultra Turbo Extended Edition Live © 2001-9999, phpBB Group
magicJack and magicJack Plus are trademarks of magicJack LLP. This website is in no way affiliated, endorsed, or sponsored by magicJack LLP, and is an unofficial forum for consumers to openly communicate regarding their experiences with the magicJack products.