Unofficial magicJack Forum

Unofficial magicJack Forum

Your Unofficial magicJack and magicJack Plus phone service information resource
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
MagicJack does not work as a MagicJack.

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Unofficial magicJack Forum -> Magic Jack Technical Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Duug
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 15 Jan 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2009 12:40 pm    Post subject: MagicJack does not work as a MagicJack.

Hello,I have this Magicjack that I bought last Feb it's all most time to renew my number but I have fought this thing for a year now with no help from Magicjack support. The problem is I can make and recieve calls just fine and can hear the other party very well but they can't hear me at all this has persisted for almost a yr. Through reading this forum I found a way to use the Jack with skype and it works very good. I have a sat connection for internet yet other than a delay it works very well with Skype. Support tells me it's the Sat connection but why does it work in Skype? anyone here able to figure this out? I think it has to do with the MJ softphone software.I can send myself voice mails just fine so I don't feel it's my audio settings but not sure. Thanks in advance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
az2008
MagicJack Sensei


Joined: 20 Aug 2008
Posts: 1404
Location: Tempe, AZ

PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2009 1:49 pm    Post subject: Re: MagicJack does not work as a MagicJack.

Duug wrote:
I think it has to do with the MJ softphone software.I can send myself voice mails just fine so I don't feel it's my audio settings but not sure.


I wasn't able to parse all that. But, did you try disconnecting the handset and using the softphone with a headset? Does the problem occur either way? Did you check the "menu->headset/volume" control in the softphone?

If not, and it's specific to the handset, did you try a powered USB hub (see the wiki FAQ for common handset problems)? A different handset?

I could suggest you try changing your proxy (as described on the wiki). But, if it's happened for a year, I doubt it's specific to your proxy.

Get your http://myspeed.visualware.com/voip/index.html and post the link to the "detailed analysis" when it's done testing your connection. (Don't cut and paste the summary, get the link to the details).

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Unofficial magicJack Forum -> Magic Jack Technical Support All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Powered by phpBB Ultra Turbo Extended Edition Live © 2001-9999, phpBB Group
magicJack and magicJack Plus are trademarks of magicJack LLP. This website is in no way affiliated, endorsed, or sponsored by magicJack LLP, and is an unofficial forum for consumers to openly communicate regarding their experiences with the magicJack products.