Unofficial magicJack Forum

Unofficial magicJack Forum

Your Unofficial magicJack and magicJack Plus phone service information resource
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Magicjack doesnt work with Nortel Contivity VPN solution

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Unofficial magicJack Forum -> Magic Jack Technical Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tipsravs
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 12 Apr 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2009 11:11 am    Post subject: Magicjack doesnt work with Nortel Contivity VPN solution

Hi All,

I am a telecommuter and use Magicjack on the go and all the time. One of the disadvantages is that MJ doesnt work when I VPN into corporate network with Nortel Contivity VPN client. I tried the approach from HOW TO VPN but it doesnt work. But I used Skype in the past and it always worked from this VPn and other VPN without any problems. Strange Smile

I noticed that even by adding the proxy server to local gateway, the default gateway when I VPN always stayed with corporate gateway. For ex,

my local gateway is 192.168.xx.x and my VPN gateway was 10.xxx.xxx.xxx

I tried via static route

route add 216.234.65.8 mask 255.255.255.255 192.168.xx.yyy

MJ kept compaling no network connection.

I tried block of ip address but still doesnt work. Here is the output of route print. It looks like there are multiple subnets involved. I have extensively masked the IPs just to be sure.



Network Destination Netmask Gateway Interface Metric
0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 10.xxx.yyy.zz 10.xxx.yyy.zz 1
0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 192.mmm.xxx.xxx 192.mmm.xxx.xxx 21
10.xxx.xxx.0 255.255.240.0 10.xxx.yyy.zz 10.xxx.yyy.zz 30
10.xxx.yyy.zz 255.255.255.255 127.0.0.1 127.0.0.1 30
10.aaa.bbb.ccc 255.255.255.255 10.xxx.yyy.zz 10.xxx.yyy.zz 30
64.0.0.0 192.0.0.0 192.mmm.xxx.xxx 192.mmm.xxx.xxx 1
127.0.0.0 255.0.0.0 127.0.0.1 127.0.0.1 1
148.ddd.ee.fff 255.255.255.255 10.xxx.yyy.zz 10.xxx.yyy.zz 1
148.ggg.hh.ii 255.255.255.255 192.mmm.xxx.xxx 192.mmm.xxx.xxx 1
192.mmm.xxx.xx 255.255.255.0 192.mmm.xxx.xxx 192.mmm.xxx.xxx 1
192.mmm.xxx.xxx 255.255.255.255 127.0.0.1 127.0.0.1 20
192.mmm.jj.kkk 255.255.255.255 192.mmm.xxx.xxx 192.mmm.xxx.xxx 20
224.nnn.ooo.ppp 240.nnn.ooo.ppp 192.mmm.xxx.xxx 192.mmm.xxx.xxx 20
224.nnn.ooo.ppp 240.nnn.ooo.ppp 10.xxx.yyy.zz 10.xxx.yyy.zz 1
255.255.255.255 255.255.255.255 10.xxx.yyy.zz 2 1
255.255.255.255 255.255.255.255 10.xxx.yyy.zz 10.xxx.yyy.zz 1
255.255.255.255 255.255.255.255 192.mmm.xxx.xxx 192.mmm.xxx.xxx 1


Any help on this would be greatly appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mberlant
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 01 Feb 2009
Posts: 829
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2009 6:59 pm    Post subject:

Is route 1 the VPN or your native network? No matter, you should try reworking the table to default everything to the native network except for the few number ranges that are private to your VPN. As you have found by reading the previous postings here or in the wiki, there are five or six different domains that MJ's softphone interacts with in the course of performing its duties.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tipsravs
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 12 Apr 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2009 8:34 pm    Post subject:

Thanks for your reply. I am not sure I understood your question regarding route 1. My native network starts with 192.xxx.

Also I tried all the below MJ SIP servers that are posted on wiki but no luck.

64.0.0.0
66.0.0.0
67.0.0.0
71.0.0.0
207.0.0.0
216.0.0.0
Also I noticed that once I am on VPN and default gateway is set to some other IP such as 10.xxx.x.x and when I execute the following command

route add 216.234.65.8 mask 255.255.255.255 192.xx.xx.xx (Local gateway) , the routing table showed 1 for local gateway and 1 for VPN default gateway. So I am not really sure what is going on.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mberlant
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 01 Feb 2009
Posts: 829
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sun Apr 12, 2009 10:38 pm    Post subject:

You need to find out from whoever supports your VPN how to change the default route. You need to be able to set up your VPN client to route only intranet segments via the VPN and everything else via your native internet connection.

You can wait around here a few days more to see if anyone with Nortel Contivity expertise shows up with the specifics of how to accomplish this, but I think you'll get faster results by googling for Contivity guidance. Please let us know how you make out.

Naturally, your Plan B can include setting up MJ on a separate junk PC or thin client or ATA.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hsweiss
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 28 Mar 2008
Posts: 563
Location: Maryland

PostPosted: Mon Apr 13, 2009 9:07 am    Post subject:

Another problem might be that your VPN forces *all* traffic from you PC thru the VPN tunnel to your corporate network. Your corp network, like mine, is probably blocking the SIP ports. Skype works because it can run over HTTP and HTTPS which are (almost) universally open. Here at the office, I can't use MJ unless I connect to an external guest network where the SIP ports are open.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Unofficial magicJack Forum -> Magic Jack Technical Support All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Powered by phpBB Ultra Turbo Extended Edition Live © 2001-9999, phpBB Group
magicJack and magicJack Plus are trademarks of magicJack LLP. This website is in no way affiliated, endorsed, or sponsored by magicJack LLP, and is an unofficial forum for consumers to openly communicate regarding their experiences with the magicJack products.