magicJack  and magicJack Plus Support, Reviews, FAQs and Hacks Forum Index

magicJack and magicJack Plus Support, Reviews, FAQs and Hacks

magicJack and magicJack Plus Unofficial Technical Support. Your Magic Jack and Magic Jack Plus phone service information resource

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

MJ + Failures

Post new topic   Reply to topic    magicJack and magicJack Plus Support, Reviews, FAQs and Hacks Forum Index -> magicJack Plus Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Gene45
MagicJack Contributor

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2012 11:15 am    Post subject: MJ + Failures Reply with quote

I have been using MJ+ for about three months, and it has failed twice. Both time it was fixed after a long time on chat with MJ. Suggested remedies included things like
"change the ethernet cable",
"change the telephone cord",
update the software.

The only process that seemed to work both times was the tech person "refreshed your connection at our end".

I have no idea what the means, but does anyone have any experience with this type of problem.

Is there a way to update the software while it is connected to the router? or
is there any benefit to powered the unit down for a few minutes on a regular basis?

I'm generally happy with the system but not impressed with the failures. If I need to call 911 I don't want to spend time on the chat system first.
SteveHC
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me

PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2012 11:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gene - You didn't tell us what you mean by "failure" and it's kind of hard to determine a possible cure if we don't really know the specific symptoms. But regardless and to answer your question (including my suggestions):