Unofficial magicJack Forum

Unofficial magicJack Forum

Your Unofficial magicJack and magicJack Plus phone service information resource
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Must Dial area code to complete this call

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Unofficial magicJack Forum -> Magic Jack Technical Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
redram38
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 17 Apr 2008
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2008 1:31 pm    Post subject: Must Dial area code to complete this call

All of a sudden any number I dial I get a voice that comes on and says In order to complete this call I must first dial the area code first. Thank you for using magic jack. The numbers I am calling are local calls. Is this something new ?? and if so what a pain in the &^% this has become.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gooney
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 09 Feb 2008
Posts: 382
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah

PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2008 1:38 pm    Post subject: Re: Must Dial area code to complete this call

redram38 wrote:
All of a sudden any number I dial I get a voice that comes on and says In order to complete this call I must first dial the area code first. Thank you for using magic jack. The numbers I am calling are local calls. Is this something new ?? and if so what a pain in the &^% this has become.


Yes this is how MJ is fixing the 7 digit dialing local issue... Hey atleast its fixed... Muahahahahaha... sorry.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LikeMagic
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 01 Jan 2008
Posts: 613
Location: LikeMagic Pacific NW

PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2008 1:41 pm    Post subject:

It seems MJ is upgrading their call servers to require 10-digit dialing to solve the issue (sw bug) whereas their call servers confused the local exchanges (NXX) as area codes (NPA) when routing a call.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Stewart
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 13 Nov 2007
Posts: 663

PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2008 2:36 pm    Post subject:

LikeMagic wrote:
It seems MJ is upgrading their call servers to require 10-digit dialing to solve the issue (sw bug) whereas their call servers confused the local exchanges (NXX) as area codes (NPA) when routing a call.
AFAICT, the "upgrade" is a rule to complain if the number is too short. For example, you can call 234-5678 in your local area code by dialing:
*672345678*** (applies old 'confusion' rules) or
*672*345678** (should work reliably)

In some cases, where normal 10 digit or 11 digit dialing fails, one of the above formats may help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LikeMagic
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 01 Jan 2008
Posts: 613
Location: LikeMagic Pacific NW

PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2008 2:45 pm    Post subject:

Stewart wrote:
LikeMagic wrote:
It seems MJ is upgrading their call servers to require 10-digit dialing to solve the issue (sw bug) whereas their call servers confused the local exchanges (NXX) as area codes (NPA) when routing a call.
AFAICT, the "upgrade" is a rule to complain if the number is too short. For example, you can call 234-5678 in your local area code by dialing:
*672345678*** (applies old 'confusion' rules) or
*672*345678** (should work reliably)

In some cases, where normal 10 digit or 11 digit dialing fails, one of the above formats may help.


I think you're right on, Stewart. You should be changing your call sign to "Stewart, the magician" as you're full of magicJack tricks Laughing Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
redram38
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 17 Apr 2008
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2008 3:23 pm    Post subject:

Well I am not sure what all this really means, but why can't you just pick up the phone and dial the freaking phone number without the area code for a local call. If MJ's way of fixing a problem is this, then IMO they still have problems. Everyday that passes makes me wonder why I signed up for the 5 years of service. ALL I know is thank God Comcast offered me a great deal to stay with them another year.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gooney
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 09 Feb 2008
Posts: 382
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah

PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2008 3:30 pm    Post subject:

redram38 wrote:
Well I am not sure what all this really means, but why can't you just pick up the phone and dial the freaking phone number without the area code for a local call. If MJ's way of fixing a problem is this, then IMO they still have problems. Everyday that passes makes me wonder why I signed up for the 5 years of service. ALL I know is thank God Comcast offered me a great deal to stay with them another year.

Did you use the promo code for the 5 years? If you did, how much did you pay for it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
stallionent
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 25 Apr 2008
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2008 12:39 pm    Post subject: local calls asking for area code

All of a sudden MJ is asking for area code on local calls, hope they are working on this. Also, IMO 4 rings to voicemail is way wrong, should be 6 or more and a opt out of voice mail. I'd rather use my answering machine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tbeckman
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 30 Apr 2008
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2008 4:04 pm    Post subject: Re: local calls asking for area code

Has anyone heard if they are working on fixing the area code dialing for local numbers yet?


stallionent wrote:
All of a sudden MJ is asking for area code on local calls, hope they are working on this. Also, IMO 4 rings to voicemail is way wrong, should be 6 or more and a opt out of voice mail. I'd rather use my answering machine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
curiousgeorge
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 23 Jan 2008
Posts: 193
Location: California

PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2008 4:06 pm    Post subject:

Are we so lazy that dialing a few more digits will cause us to freak out and get upset,good lord! Embarassed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TreasureGift
MagicJack User


Joined: 16 Apr 2008
Posts: 39
Location: On a mountain side in the high desert of far West Texas

PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2008 4:40 pm    Post subject:

Having to dial the area code for local calls, many larger cities have been doing this for a long time, I remember when it happened in the Dallas / Fort Worth area, it was annoying, but we all got used to it, I just moved to a very small town and here the area code is the same for a huge region, and in the town, the prefix for all phone numbers are the same, so people around here typically just call out the last 4 digits of their phone numbers, it drives me crazy because I barely know the area code!

So don't get too upset about having to dial the area code, it is bound to happen to everyone eventually no matter where they live and who they use for phone service.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
redram38
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 17 Apr 2008
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2008 7:01 pm    Post subject:

gooney wrote:
redram38 wrote:
Well I am not sure what all this really means, but why can't you just pick up the phone and dial the freaking phone number without the area code for a local call. If MJ's way of fixing a problem is this, then IMO they still have problems. Everyday that passes makes me wonder why I signed up for the 5 years of service. ALL I know is thank God Comcast offered me a great deal to stay with them another year.

Did you use the promo code for the 5 years? If you did, how much did you pay for it?


I paid an additional 49.95 for the extra 4 years, comes to about 12.00 per year so even if MJ does not get better, I am still not really out much over the 5 year period. I hope to be able to get rid of Comcast one day. The said my internet would go up to 60.00 per mth and with the promo I get the phone and internet for 62.00 for a year
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Unofficial magicJack Forum -> Magic Jack Technical Support All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Powered by phpBB Ultra Turbo Extended Edition Live © 2001-9999, phpBB Group
magicJack and magicJack Plus are trademarks of magicJack LLP. This website is in no way affiliated, endorsed, or sponsored by magicJack LLP, and is an unofficial forum for consumers to openly communicate regarding their experiences with the magicJack products.