Unofficial magicJack Forum

Unofficial magicJack Forum

Your Unofficial magicJack and magicJack Plus phone service information resource
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
testyourvoip test failed

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Unofficial magicJack Forum -> Magic Jack Technical Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
m.anto
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 31 Oct 2008
Posts: 2
Location: western mass

PostPosted: Sat Nov 01, 2008 8:06 pm    Post subject: testyourvoip test failed

I have had magic jack for a few months now and it has been mostly crappy. I call it magic joke. My problems are mostly audio quality for the persons I call. They sometimes hardly hear me. Also sometimes I hear them all choppy and broke up.

I have tried many fixes listed here. these are the ones I can remember:
Set background to priority.
Set taskmanager to high for magicjack.exe (must do this every reboot)
Allowed Magicjack program in my firewall
Set services for ports 5060 and 5070 in my firewall
Forwarded ports 5060 and 5070 in my router
Ran magicfix
Tried a corded phone (currantly run a 3 set cordless that was fine w/landline)
Tried several usb ports with and w/out extension cable

My Setup:
Dell xps410 desktop core2 2.4gig 2gig ram
netgear wired router/switch
comcast economy cable internet with motorola modem
home networked to 1 more desktop

(Note: I moved the magicjack from the other computer to the dell as it is much faster machine. The other is a p4 with a 1.4gig processor 512meg ram.)

I ran the test at testyourvoip.com and it failed. The screen went jerky and almost locked up.

I ran the test at http://myspeed.visualware.com/voip/index.html and it returned the following:

Speed test statistics
---------------------
Download speed: 738384 bps
Upload speed: 368128 bps
Quality of service: 88 %
Download test type: socket
Upload test type: socket
Maximum download pause: 364 ms
Average download pause: 28 ms
Minimum round trip time to server: 45 ms
Average round trip time to server: 116 ms

VoIP test statistics
--------------------
Jitter: you --> server: 2.2 ms
Jitter: server --> you: 3.6 ms
Packet loss: you --> server: 0.0 %
Packet loss: server --> you: 0.0 %
Packet discards: 0.0 %
Packets out of order: 0.0 %
Number of supported VoIP lines: 2
Estimated MOS score: 4.0

Why does that tes run and not the other?

I am open to any sugestions to improve this service.

Thanks in advance,
Mark A.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lymon
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 164

PostPosted: Sun Nov 02, 2008 5:38 pm    Post subject:

Testyourvoip is sensitive your JAVA version. Before I upgraded my JAVA it would just hang up my session with no indication of what was wrong. Try a JAVA upgrade and see what testyourvoip says.

I've had MJ for several months now and it has worked well for me 99% of the time and I have a relatively slow connection 512/384. Hopefully testyourvoip will eventually give you some info that you can use.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
az2008
MagicJack Sensei


Joined: 20 Aug 2008
Posts: 1404
Location: Tempe, AZ

PostPosted: Sun Nov 02, 2008 6:08 pm    Post subject:

lymon wrote:
Hopefully testyourvoip will eventually give you some info that you can use.


What was wrong with his visualware results?

Personally, I don't like testyourvoip. It seems too pedantic. For example it requires your firewall to open some ports that MJ doesn't require. It seemed like a pain to have to change my firewall just to test things like latency, packet loss, jitter, etc.

It seems so much easier to just go to visualware and be done with it.

http://myspeed.visualware.com/voip/index.html

I've never done the testyourvoip test (I gave up as soon as it complained that my firewall didn't have some ports open). Does it report something visualware doesn't?

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lymon
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 31 May 2008
Posts: 164

PostPosted: Sun Nov 02, 2008 8:27 pm    Post subject:

az2008 wrote:

What was wrong with his visualware results?


Dunno, what's your take on it?


az2008 wrote:
It seems so much easier to just go to visualware and be done with it.


I get all sorts of weird speed results from it that don't even come close to matching any other internet speed test sites. Besides testyourvoip has a prettier pie chart format Very Happy

az2008 wrote:
... Does it report something visualware doesn't?


Nothing substantial, but since OP asked why it didn't work, I gave him a possible solution.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
m.anto
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 31 Oct 2008
Posts: 2
Location: western mass

PostPosted: Sun Nov 02, 2008 9:13 pm    Post subject:

Well with the test results from myspeed do they look ok?

Lymon,
What are your results like for your connection(with speeds similar to mine)?

az2008,
I just wanted to get results from 2 tests and see if they were close,kinda like getting a 2nd opinion from another doctor.


Also (not to get off on a tangent) the ports used by magicjack are in the 1000 and 60000 range. For example,right now mine is/has accsessed these ports:
UDP 1066,UDP 1064,UDP 65113(most activity),UDP 1065 and UDP 1067
and during a call:
UDP 49154(steady in and out during call,closes on hangup)

I thought it used 5060 and 5070,thats what thier site tells you to open up.Even on a mj restart it does not use them.

I thought my problem was my firewall and figured if I could open some ports it would help out mj but I don't really know which ports to open.

Did any of you have audio issues? What were your fixes?

Thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
az2008
MagicJack Sensei


Joined: 20 Aug 2008
Posts: 1404
Location: Tempe, AZ

PostPosted: Sun Nov 02, 2008 9:50 pm    Post subject:

m.anto wrote:
I thought it used 5060 and 5070,thats what thier site tells you to open up.Even on a mj restart it does not use them.


I've posted about this before. The MJ device opens a connection to port 5070 *on the MJ server*. This seems to be a control connection, opened when you start the MJ software.

When a call is placed or received, the MJ device opens a connection to a port in the range of 10000 and 20000 *on the MJ server*. This connection carries the voice traffic. It seems to be RTP.

I have no ports opened on my router. MJ works fine for me.

I've never seen 5060 to 5069 used.

The way MJ support tells people to open 5060-5070, it's like they're describing the *opposite* direction (MJ server opening a port to your computer).

Regarding visualware, there is a summary tab which should give you an idea of how you did. On the graph tab there is a link for detailed analysis which goes to a page which is a permalink (you can post here).

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Unofficial magicJack Forum -> Magic Jack Technical Support All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Powered by phpBB Ultra Turbo Extended Edition Live © 2001-9999, phpBB Group
magicJack and magicJack Plus are trademarks of magicJack LLP. This website is in no way affiliated, endorsed, or sponsored by magicJack LLP, and is an unofficial forum for consumers to openly communicate regarding their experiences with the magicJack products.