Unofficial magicJack Forum

Unofficial magicJack Forum

Your Unofficial magicJack and magicJack Plus phone service information resource
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
The Best ATA Device to use with Magicjack

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Unofficial magicJack Forum -> magicJack Tips, Tricks, and Hacks
View previous topic :: View next topic  

pap2 v1
pap2 v2
14%
 14%  [ 11 ]
pap2t
38%
 38%  [ 29 ]
SPA-2102
21%
 21%  [ 16 ]
SAP-1001
2%
 2%  [ 2 ]
Other ATA devices
22%
 22%  [ 17 ]
Total Votes : 75

Author Message
doctorman
MagicJack Contributor


Joined: 03 Feb 2009
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Fri Mar 20, 2009 10:44 am    Post subject: The Best ATA Device to use with Magicjack

Hello,

what is the best ATA device to be used with magicjack?

ATA device is Ethernet to Phone jack device, we can put magicjack SIP /credentials in it and set it up to avoid using a computer with magic jack.
you can connect it directly to your modem/router.

please mention your reasoning and perhaps a link to the guide on how to setup that device or even unlock it.
maybe if we get good result we can make a sticky post out of it. I will try to update this first post with the info as we go on.

I am sure most of us would rather run the magicjack without the computer.

also please try to compare the ata devices with con and pro relative to magicjack.

I am aware that there are many posts on this topic I am trying to put it all together and make it easier for all. please help me out here.
thanks Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
msiam
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 15 Nov 2007
Posts: 474
Location: WI

PostPosted: Fri Mar 20, 2009 12:25 pm    Post subject:

I would say InnoMedia MTA6328-2Re for the simplest of set up and reliability, But, they are not as available as they once were. The GrandStream HandyTone 286 is also simple and reliable with a low cost, and can be found new for around $30 on the web. $15 to 20 second hand..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
doctorman
MagicJack Contributor


Joined: 03 Feb 2009
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Fri Mar 20, 2009 12:37 pm    Post subject:

msiam wrote:
I would say InnoMedia MTA6328-2Re for the simplest of set up and reliability, But, they are not as available as they once were. The GrandStream HandyTone 286 is also simple and reliable with a low cost, and can be found new for around $30 on the web. $15 to 20 second hand..

thanks for the reply did you try the pap2 v2 or any other one?
I can get the locked pap2 for 15$ shipped then I have to unlock it..is that worth it...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mberlant
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 01 Feb 2009
Posts: 829
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Fri Mar 20, 2009 8:47 pm    Post subject:

If you have to ask if it worth buying a locked ATA you may not be up to the task of unlocking it. This is because many of the devices that are sold in a locked condition are still locked because of a previously botched unlock attempt, which rendered the device locked down harder.

If you have read through forums that specialize in unlocking ATAs and have familiarized yourself with the procedure and the telltale clues to look for in a for sale posting (new in box, never used, etc.) that give you indications of your chances of success in unlocking, then go for it. Otherwise, I would recommend that you spend the extra $20 for a never-been-locked ATA. I have never purchased or recommended a previously locked ATA and have never been disappointed.

Of course, once you have an unlocked Linksys or Sipura ATA (whether unlocked or never locked), any model will work equally well with MJ. As a bonus, Linksys/Sipura ATAs have the benefit of a user definable Dial Plan, which GrandStream ATAs do not.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
doctorman
MagicJack Contributor


Joined: 03 Feb 2009
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Sat Mar 21, 2009 8:50 pm    Post subject: pap2t looks like the most popular

so looking at the poll
it looks like pap2t is more famous than the others
can anyone elaborate on that?

why?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pagemen
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 128

PostPosted: Sun Mar 22, 2009 2:10 am    Post subject:

Well, there is no choice for PAP2 v1 in the poll
and...I can't say which one is the best for MJ, but v2 is definitely the worst.
so, here comes the winner, PAP2T.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
doctorman
MagicJack Contributor


Joined: 03 Feb 2009
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Sun Mar 22, 2009 2:15 am    Post subject:

not sure why pap2 v1 is disabled..
maybe a mod could fix it but regardless it looks like pa2t is the one
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mberlant
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 01 Feb 2009
Posts: 829
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sun Mar 22, 2009 2:32 am    Post subject:

It is not disabled. The OP entered that choice as the title of the table instead of as a choice. The "poll" is pretty useless, though, since more than one answer is possible. In fact, "any of the above" is a quite reasonable choice.

Once (or if) unlocked, all Linksys/Sipura devices behave identically with respect to their ATA functionality. They sort of have to, owing to their identical software engine. The PAP2 V2 dissing that is going on is most likely related to the relative difficulty in unlocking the device and not in the ability of the device to work with MJ once having been unlocked. I haven't yet seen any documented case of a successfully and fully unlocked V2 having trouble with any service provider.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pagemen
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 128

PostPosted: Sun Mar 22, 2009 3:06 am    Post subject:

v2 is more of a Linksys device(running Linux, like RTP300 etc.) than Sipura's(proprietary OS), while PAP2T backs to the Sipura track.

Among three PAP2s, I would vote for PAP2v1 since it can be crossflashed to SPA1001, which gives the advantage to use two VOIP lines with one phone----incredibly convenient.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
trek101
MagicJack User


Joined: 16 Nov 2008
Posts: 41
Location: EL87qt

PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2009 5:04 pm    Post subject:

I definitely agree that it is better to pay a little extra and purchase a new ATA that is not tied to any VoIP carrier if you don't want too much hassle of picking up a "pre-owned" ATA and attempting to unlocking process is like a "pig in a poke" so to speak.

The ATA's that I have utilised and have been working for well over a year without too much issues with the exception of once in a great while to keep the firmwares up to date. Very Happy

Linksys PAP2T
Linksys SPA-2102
Linksys RTP300
Linksys SPA-8000 (handles up to 8 CO's)

pagemen wrote:
I would vote for PAP2v1 since it can be crossflashed to SPA1001, which gives the advantage to use two VOIP lines with one phone----incredibly convenient.
Definitely sounds interesting; I'll have to look into that one. I have two MJ numbers utilising a multi-line phone set; one in my local area code and one in another state so my parents don't get clobbered by long-distance charges since they qualify to have "lifeline" services with Ma Bell (tried to talk them to getting a MJ without too much success)...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tony
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 04 May 2008
Posts: 509
Location: Vancouver, BC

PostPosted: Thu Jun 18, 2009 11:32 am    Post subject:

All this talk about ATAs failing to work with MJ after the June 9 2009 upgrade has me interested in getting an ATA to play around with. I played around with MJ on Fring on my cell phone. Since June 9 I've signed up with voip.ms and Fring is working again. With voip.ms I can set-up sub-accounts and use the pre-paid calling time (1/2 cent per minute in Canada) on other devices. Hence the interest in an ATA.

So two questions. First, any recommendations on a source with good prices (purchase plus shipping)? Ebay ones from Hong Kong are going for $40USD and North American sellers are asking $55USD on up.

Second, there's chat on the Internet that ATAs from China/Hong Kong are clones and prone to early failure. Any substance to those claims? If true, any reliable sources even if it's a bit more expensive?

I'm looking for an unlocked 2-phone line ATA, probably a Linksys. But I'm open to suggestions on what to look for.

thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thisiskate
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 11 May 2009
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Thu Jun 18, 2009 12:34 pm    Post subject:

I bought one from eBay (from HK) and it died yesterday. These are not genuine units. Just by looking at them you can say it is not genuine (generic power adapter, flimsy looking adapter etc...). Right now Buy.com has PAP2T-NA for $50.xx shipped. I would strongly suggest to buy one from US and from a reputed seller.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anant
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 12 Nov 2007
Posts: 114

PostPosted: Thu Jun 18, 2009 1:39 pm    Post subject: Buy PAP2

I would agree. Buy from a reputed seller from US. I am not happy with my HK buys. They seem to be look-like but not the same.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tony
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 04 May 2008
Posts: 509
Location: Vancouver, BC

PostPosted: Thu Jun 18, 2009 4:48 pm    Post subject:

Great, thanks for the advice! Will look for a North American source.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spencer
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 17 Jun 2009
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu Jun 18, 2009 11:24 pm    Post subject: I got one from China (But shipped from HK)

It worked great out of the box. I have setup a bunch of VOIP on it except MJ.

It's been a week and I do not have any problem. Maybe need long time to see what happened?

BTW, it cost me $32.

(FYI, most ATA are made in China or other countries other than USA. So the chances of failure maybe same)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pagemen
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 128

PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 7:47 am    Post subject:

There is a long thread on DSLR, covers pretty much everything

I Want a PAP2-NA - Where to Buy?

HK units are still genuine Linksys, the poor unlock process made them flimsy. I would second the suggestion: buy from a reputable US seller, like $50 from buy.com

http://www.buy.com/prod/cisco-pap2t-internet-phone-adapter-with-2-voip-ports/q/loc/111/202352780.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thisiskate
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 11 May 2009
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 3:48 pm    Post subject: Re: I got one from China (But shipped from HK)

spencer wrote:
FYI, most ATA are made in China or other countries other than USA. So the chances of failure maybe same


I respectfully disagree with this statement. Its not about where it is made, but how it is made. In this case these units from China/HK sellers are cloned ones. They may fail soon. If you buy from reputable US seller, you will get 1 year of warranty.

BTW, the cheapest new PAP2T-NA I have seen on eBay is $40+ (from China/HK). If you buy from Buy.com's store in eBay, you can get it for $46 after 8% Bing cashback plus peace of mind. If someone is interested, here is the eBay item number: 350168493457
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
srvctek
MagicJack Expert


Joined: 09 Jan 2009
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2009 12:43 am    Post subject:

my pap2t-na come from hk and i never had a problem, as far as being a clone, well i doubt it cuz it looks legit in every way to me including the firmware and power supply and i have an old locked vonage pap2 to compare it to side by side.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
spencer
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 17 Jun 2009
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2009 2:47 am    Post subject: Re: I got one from China (But shipped from HK)

thisiskate wrote:
spencer wrote:
FYI, most ATA are made in China or other countries other than USA. So the chances of failure maybe same


I respectfully disagree with this statement. Its not about where it is made, but how it is made. In this case these units from China/HK sellers are cloned ones. They may fail soon. If you buy from reputable US seller, you will get 1 year of warranty.

BTW, the cheapest new PAP2T-NA I have seen on eBay is $40+ (from China/HK). If you buy from Buy.com's store in eBay, you can get it for $46 after 8% Bing cashback plus peace of mind. If someone is interested, here is the eBay item number: 350168493457


There a bunch of guys in the forum someone mentioned above. And one guy called XEON is very funny - He said the PAP2 was sent to China to destroy since it will pollute the environment here. And some Chinese did not destroy them but do some fix and sell them back to USA.

If this is true, those Chinese and all guys in USA who buy these from them should be treated as hero since they work together to save our earth.

So buy those if you can and save our mother earth!!!


Last edited by spencer on Sun Jun 21, 2009 2:39 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tony
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 04 May 2008
Posts: 509
Location: Vancouver, BC

PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2009 12:11 pm    Post subject: Re: Buy PAP2

anant wrote:
I would agree. Buy from a reputed seller from US. I am not happy with my HK buys. They seem to be look-like but not the same.


There's a seller in my city selling Linksys Spa2102 ATAs for $35. I can pick up locally. Can I tell if it's a clone? Do the clones also come in a Linksys box or a generic plain box? Do the power supplies for genuine Linksys products show the linksys name? The seller advertises these as new. How can I tell it's genuine Linksys and not a clone?

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thisiskate
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 11 May 2009
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2009 7:03 pm    Post subject:

Basically these are the differences between the ATAs (PAP2T-NA) I bought from China and Buy.com:

1. Package
China: White box
Buy.com: Linksys box

2. Device
China: Looks flimsy, and the printed text is not correctly aligned with the lights
Buy.com: Looks solid, printed text is correctly aligned with the lights

3. Power Adapter
China: Generic
Buy.com: Linksys branded

4. Software CD
China: No
Buy.com: Yes

5. Firmware
China: 5.1.6
Buy.com: 3.1.15 (I downloaded 5.1.6 from linksys website, and it was a easy upgrade - just unzip the folder and double click the exe and you are done)

Hope this helps.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
anant
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 12 Nov 2007
Posts: 114

PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2009 7:47 pm    Post subject: pap2-na vs rtp300-na

I wonder why we are not considering RTP300 vs PAP2 ? The price of both appears comparable.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nostrodamus
MagicJack Contributor


Joined: 28 Apr 2008
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2009 10:33 pm    Post subject:

Never had a problem with my Linksys 2102. Well, other than the problems caused by the Sunrocket meltdown, and most recently, this MJ fiasco.

It's back in the closet now, while I run the USB dongle on my "not so thin client", but depending on what I do in another month or so when I decide whether to renew MJ or not, I might just plug it in again and run some other VOIP (like SipGate) on it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tony
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 04 May 2008
Posts: 509
Location: Vancouver, BC

PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2009 11:13 am    Post subject:

thisiskate wrote:
Basically these are the differences between the ATAs (PAP2T-NA) I bought from China and Buy.com:


Hi
Yes, that helps. I'll be able to tell if it's genuine or not.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tony
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 04 May 2008
Posts: 509
Location: Vancouver, BC

PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 12:47 pm    Post subject:

Picked up the ATA, it's working well and appears to be genuine. When I go to the config menu, it says "Clearwire" in one field. I don't recognize the name, but maybe an unlocked ATA?

Off topic.
The ATA device is pretty amazing, I didn't know anything about ATAs until the June 9/09 MJ update generated all the discussion. This device (SPA2102) is a router too and can pass through the Internet to a laptop. I currently am in a location with wifi where I have a Linksys Travel Router acting as a wireless adapter feeding the Internet to the ATA which in turns is feeding the Internet to my laptop. I've subscribed to voip.ms and the call quality is landline-like. On top of that, the location I'm at gets its Internet signal by high powered wifi beamed to a dish which feeds a wifi router. So from the Internet the connection goes to --> high powered wifi > dish on building > modem > consumer grade wifi router > Linksys travel router set to receive Internet via wifi > ATA > finally to the laptop.

Latency and drop outs were undetectable. The possibilities are endless to have a self contained, fully functioning, professional appearing office anywhere there is AC power and some kind of high speed Internet service.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Unofficial magicJack Forum -> magicJack Tips, Tricks, and Hacks All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Powered by phpBB Ultra Turbo Extended Edition Live © 2001-9999, phpBB Group
magicJack and magicJack Plus are trademarks of magicJack LLP. This website is in no way affiliated, endorsed, or sponsored by magicJack LLP, and is an unofficial forum for consumers to openly communicate regarding their experiences with the magicJack products.