Unofficial magicJack Forum

Unofficial magicJack Forum

Your Unofficial magicJack and magicJack Plus phone service information resource
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
The magic has faded

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Unofficial magicJack Forum -> Magic Jack Technical Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bernybern
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 07 Apr 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2008 6:35 pm    Post subject: The magic has faded

I have had magicjack for a couple of weeks. I clicked on an upgrade ad in the dial screen. Scince then, nothing. If I unplug, then replug the mj, the light does not come on and I get the msg from my comp, new material detected but may not work properly due to some instal problems. If I leave it pluged and reboot, then the light comes on but when I start the magicfix or upgrade, I get, warning mj must be pluged in usb. So that means that the software does not detect the mj. If I go to add new material, I can find it in the scroll down options and when I select it, it says usb port functioning properly.
I have tried it on 3 other cpu's and I get the msg, new material detected but may not function properly. So I now know that it is capoute. I have tried customer service and wow what an experience. They tell me to send it back to the place of purchase but it was given to me by a friend and he is out of town.
So what I need to know is, if my cpu detects the mj but I cant get it to respond to its software, is there any way to hack into it and force the program down its throte.

Thanks

Bernybern
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ariesjill
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 23 Mar 2008
Posts: 138
Location: Manhattan

PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2008 6:49 pm    Post subject: Re: The magic has faded

bernybern wrote:
I have had magicjack for a couple of weeks. I clicked on an upgrade ad in the dial screen. Scince then, nothing. If I unplug, then replug the mj, the light does not come on and I get the msg from my comp, new material detected but may not work properly due to some instal problems. If I leave it pluged and reboot, then the light comes on but when I start the magicfix or upgrade, I get, warning mj must be pluged in usb. So that means that the software does not detect the mj. If I go to add new material, I can find it in the scroll down options and when I select it, it says usb port functioning properly.
I have tried it on 3 other cpu's and I get the msg, new material detected but may not function properly. So I now know that it is capoute. I have tried customer service and wow what an experience. They tell me to send it back to the place of purchase but it was given to me by a friend and he is out of town.
So what I need to know is, if my cpu detects the mj but I cant get it to respond to its software, is there any way to hack into it and force the program down its throte.

Thanks

Bernybern


V cute title. Smile If, at this point, when you open My computer, you see the two new MJ entries, right click on the second/lower one and, from the drop down menu, hit "format." Then remove the device....plug in it again and see wut happens.

If nothing, then you might try completely uninstalling it deleting the relevant reg keys....but only if you feel comfortable using regedit.

But let's see if the above accomplishes sumthin.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bernybern
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 07 Apr 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2008 7:20 pm    Post subject:

Thanks for the quick response Ariesjill. I can not see the entry in my comp. I have tried to eliminate all of the mj software in regedit, but I am not knowlegable with that avenue. I used a prog called hijackthis and autoruns. D'ont know if I got it all.
I have just rebooted and the cpu detected that there was a usb phone called tigerjet and then said it was ready to use. I then launched mj software and still get the msg, warning, must plud mj into usb.
If you can still try to help me out , I would greatly appriciate it.

Thanks

Bernybern
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ariesjill
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 23 Mar 2008
Posts: 138
Location: Manhattan

PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2008 7:49 pm    Post subject:

Hey, berny,

First, pls do not overestimate my savvy...I do try, but there are way moresavvy people here than I; I learn more as I go
Next, pls be careful using Hijack this. I do and have been lucky, but it often takes someone with real training to read & understand the logs and each entry.

Speaking of savvy people, someone here named bic leaped in to try to help in my mess. I will paste his instructions on deleting the relevant MJ keys in the registry. Pls be careful re finding the right folders and expanding them and then deleting only the individual keys; do not fail to expand & delete the folders:

unplug your magicJack. Now go to "Start" in Windows and click on "run".
In there write regedit and press enter.
Now click on + sign next to HKEY_LOCAL MACHINE
Click on + sign next to SYSTEM
Click on + sign next to CurrentControlSet
Click on + sign next to Enum
Now find folder called USB. Right click on that and click on "Permissions". In permissions click on the check mark called "Allow" to the right of "Full Control".

Also, is your system fully patched and free of infection?
Now click on + sign next to USB and then find the two folders called "Vid1307", right click on one at a time and select delete if you don't have these that is fine- skip it
Now click on - Sign next to USB
Right click on Folder called USBSTOR and allow permissions
Now click on + sign next to USBSTOR
Find the folders called "CdRom&Ven_YMAX&Prod_MagicJack&Rev" and "Disk&Ven_YMAX&Prod_MagicJack&Rev"
Right click on those one at a time and delete them
Now exit Regedit

And please only do this if it is within your comfort zone. And never be ashamed of comfort zones; we can not do stuff until we learn stuff.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bernybern
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 07 Apr 2008
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2008 8:20 pm    Post subject:

For now, you are my only hope Laughing
I had already tried that procedure. The files under USBSTOR were not there. But what do I next? If I plug it in again it will only tell me that it can't work properly. What I would need is to be able to talk to that little siler box. Like I said be4, when I reboot, the cpu tells me that the hardware has been installed and that it may not work properly. If I look it up in the add new material, the darn thing is there and tells me theres nothing wrong with it, and tells me to stop freaking out and to just relax.

What next?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mosman
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 08 Apr 2008
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2008 9:20 pm    Post subject:

Sometimes the really simple fix works. Try using another usb port. This may force another complete install. Only cost a few minutes of time to zap it out.

Jerry
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ariesjill
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 23 Mar 2008
Posts: 138
Location: Manhattan

PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2008 9:25 pm    Post subject:

bernybern wrote:
For now, you are my only hope Laughing
I had already tried that procedure. The files under USBSTOR were not there. But what do I next? If I plug it in again it will only tell me that it can't work properly. What I would need is to be able to talk to that little siler box. Like I said be4, when I reboot, the cpu tells me that the hardware has been installed and that it may not work properly. If I look it up in the add new material, the darn thing is there and tells me theres nothing wrong with it, and tells me to stop freaking out and to just relax.

What next?


OK, again, puhleeezzze do not make me the "only hope"; that is not justified, forget it is terrifying, OK? There are tons of smart people here who know more than I and I am sure others will weigh in.

Next, if yr CPU---your central processing unit..your processor--- is speaking, I wanna hear/see it, OK? Plus, if it is...U should sell it on ebay. Cause mainly, they do not do that. Smile I think you mean your operating system is "speaking."

Please post your system specs: your operating system, the speed of your processor and how much ram is installed. Also, again if yr system is fully patched re Microsoft updates. There is some reason the MJ software doesn't load at all.

Also, is this your original installation? I mean on yr hard drive?

also again, is your computer's operating system fully patched? Is your computer free of infections?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
snowigloo
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 14 Nov 2007
Posts: 122

PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2008 9:46 pm    Post subject:

did you try the blue light Recover Tool ? When you use the magicfix its below that

http://www.magicjack.com/1/magicfix.asp


Last edited by snowigloo on Tue Apr 08, 2008 9:49 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ariesjill
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 23 Mar 2008
Posts: 138
Location: Manhattan

PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2008 9:48 pm    Post subject:

Excellent....pls try the above suggestions!

But remember, the device worked for him until he got that upgrade.....so I think he may just need to uninstall it completely and start over.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jacksondale
MagicJack Expert


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2008 11:14 pm    Post subject:

You may want to try a forum search for the Magic Jack recover program. I know its here but not sure where it is posted. If unable to find I have a copy of the setup program on my computer. Its 431kb and you can PM me and I'll email to you. I haven't had to use it but it seemed like something to save for a rainy day.... Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paulc21269
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 30 Mar 2008
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Tue Apr 08, 2008 11:53 pm    Post subject: same problem here

my computer does not see it when i plug it in. blue light. Shows I have a hub when it is pluged in but no extra drives on my computer. Also any magic program that runs will not see it (mj). also tried on 3 computers xp and a vista.


paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ariesjill
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 23 Mar 2008
Posts: 138
Location: Manhattan

PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 12:16 am    Post subject: Re: same problem here

paulc21269 wrote:
my computer does not see it when i plug it in. blue light. Shows I have a hub when it is pluged in but no extra drives on my computer. Also any magic program that runs will not see it (mj). also tried on 3 computers xp and a vista.


paul


Are you saying that you are using a USB hub on the main computer? MJ says clearly to connect directly to a USB port. Next, did you try to install the device on the other two systems before or after getting the patch which seemed to disable in on yr main system?

Also, tell us about your broadband connection, is it DSL? Cable? Do you have a router? A cable modem?

Next, do you see any new, unfamiliar icons on Windows systray at the bottom of your screen? Like one which, when you mouse over it, get balloon message saiyng "Safely remove hardware"??? If your W systray has left pointing arrows to the left of the visible icons, please click on those to expand it and check.

I would next like to know if the MJ software installed any reg keys. but we should ot get ahead of ourselves.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ariesjill
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 23 Mar 2008
Posts: 138
Location: Manhattan

PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 2:14 am    Post subject:

Hi again, Paul.

After looking for the systray icon....as per above, and if you find it, employ it (click on it); a window will appear showing the devices; pls follow the steps to disable them and then unplug yr MJ. If no systray icon can be found, that would make sense given what you have shared, but check it anyhow.

Next, and for the second time in last 12 hours....I will now paste instructions from a fellow member here, Bicnelli. If you feel comfortable going into your registry, and if you are careful and follow these meticulously, you sholud not have any trouble, but if it creeps U out, don't. If not, first see if the MJ software installed the reg keys. If not, do nothing. If so, right click on the keys and choose delete. Make sure you expand the folders so find th4e individual keys; do not delete the folders themselves.

Now go to "Start" in Windows and click on "run".
In there write regedit and press enter.
Now click on + sign next to HKEY_LOCAL MACHINE
Click on + sign next to SYSTEM
Click on + sign next to CurrentControlSet
Click on + sign next to Enum
Now find folder called USB. Right click on that and click on "Permissions". In permissions click on the check mark called "Allow" to the right of "Full Control".
Now click on + sign next to USB and then find the two folders called "Vid1307", right click on one at a time and select delete if you don't have these that is fine- skip it
Now click on - Sign next to USB
Right click on Folder called USBSTOR and allow permissions
Now click on + sign next to USBSTOR
Find the folders called "CdRom&Ven_YMAX&Prod_MagicJack&Rev" and "Disk&Ven_YMAX&Prod_MagicJack&Rev"
Right click on those one at a time and delete them
Now exit Regedit

Open W task manger by pressing ctrl/Alt/delete keys. When it opens, choose the second tab: "Processes" Look for one: UTSCSI.exe. If it's not there, that's OK, but tell us. If it is, hit the "end process" button at the bottom right of the window.

If you find the MJ process running in W task Mgr, and you find and delete the registry keys as per Bicnelli's instructions, then insert your MJ into a USB portand see if it loads its software normally.

Pls keep us up to speed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paulc21269
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 30 Mar 2008
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 11:01 am    Post subject: follow up

I have two mj one works the other will not setup. it loads as a generic hub but looks like all software on it is gone. You cant load a mj program to reset it up because the software (mj) does not see it pluged in. Yet if I put the other one in it works.

Paul


I tried it in 3 different computers If I have time later I will try to force load the programs on it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SteveInWa
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 09 Feb 2008
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 1:41 pm    Post subject:

Send it back and get it replaced; don't waste time troubleshooting it. I had the same problem with mine (worked fine for some time, then "magically", the USB CD-ROM and disk drive and audio components stopped being recognized, no matter what I did, and it didn't work on a different PC either. I RMA'd mine, got a new one yesterday, and it works fine (except for the aggravation of all their various servers being down yesterday for some time, and voicemail still dead today).

--Steve
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
paulc21269
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 30 Mar 2008
Posts: 29

PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 4:30 pm    Post subject: yes

for $40 dollars I just buy another one and play with this one. Half the fun is why something doesnt work and how to fix it to make it better.

Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ariesjill
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 23 Mar 2008
Posts: 138
Location: Manhattan

PostPosted: Wed Apr 09, 2008 4:42 pm    Post subject:

Well....my premise was, the puppy worked initially and then no ore, so we could troubleshoot.

But, having read some of the above....maybe getting another one makes sense. It's CONFUSING, ok?

In my mess, I only knew my actual MJ worked cause it installed perfectly on 2 of my 3 systems. Yours now works on no systems.

So, I now think getting another one would actually help in the troubleshooting. If you can do it, I think you should do it. this is why lots of people weighing in is such a fab thing!!!!!

I never would have thought of this on my own.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Unofficial magicJack Forum -> Magic Jack Technical Support All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Powered by phpBB Ultra Turbo Extended Edition Live © 2001-9999, phpBB Group
magicJack and magicJack Plus are trademarks of magicJack LLP. This website is in no way affiliated, endorsed, or sponsored by magicJack LLP, and is an unofficial forum for consumers to openly communicate regarding their experiences with the magicJack products.