Unofficial magicJack Forum

Unofficial magicJack Forum

Your Unofficial magicJack and magicJack Plus phone service information resource
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Transferring phone # from one magicJack to another magicJack

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Unofficial magicJack Forum -> Magic Jack Technical Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Nugrl
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 01 Dec 2009
Posts: 354

PostPosted: Mon Sep 20, 2010 2:01 pm    Post subject: Transferring phone # from one magicJack to another magicJack

Is it possible to transfer your phone number from one mj to another mj? I tried searching for the answer to that one, but didn't really find anything on it.

The reason I ask is because I just went out and bought a second mj, brought it home, activated it, and only after doing so, read on here that there is a new mj out now with a new chip in it, but I think the one I got is not the newer model. so I want to keep the number that came with the mj that I just bought, but I would love to buy another one with the new chip in it, transfer this phone number to it, and return the other one. can this be done?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pbjandfritos
MagicJack Expert


Joined: 25 Jun 2010
Posts: 92
Location: Michigan, United States

PostPosted: Mon Sep 20, 2010 2:12 pm    Post subject: Re: Transferring phone # from one magicJack to another magic

Nugrl wrote:
Is it possible to transfer your phone number from one mj to another mj? I tried searching for the answer to that one, but didn't really find anything on it.

The reason I ask is because I just went out and bought a second mj, brought it home, activated it, and only after doing so, read on here that there is a new mj out now with a new chip in it, but I think the one I got is not the newer model. so I want to keep the number that came with the mj that I just bought, but I would love to buy another one with the new chip in it, transfer this phone number to it, and return the other one. can this be done?

Yes, it can be transferd. You will have to chat MJ Support on how to do so. Make sure you don't register it before you transfer it.

Ernie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
crackerjack
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 16 Nov 2007
Posts: 784

PostPosted: Mon Sep 20, 2010 2:13 pm    Post subject: Re: Transferring phone # from one magicJack to another magic

Nugrl wrote:
Is it possible to transfer your phone number from one mj to another mj? I tried searching for the answer to that one, but didn't really find anything on it.

The reason I ask is because I just went out and bought a second mj, brought it home, activated it, and only after doing so, read on here that there is a new mj out now with a new chip in it, but I think the one I got is not the newer model. so I want to keep the number that came with the mj that I just bought, but I would love to buy another one with the new chip in it, transfer this phone number to it, and return the other one. can this be done?

Does your mj dongle have an orange sticker on back?
Dous your softphone show serial # A9204xxx??
If either are true, you have the latest.....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tsmith
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 18 Jan 2010
Posts: 420
Location: Utah

PostPosted: Mon Sep 20, 2010 2:31 pm    Post subject:

From what I've read on this forum (SEARCH is your friend), once you've activated your MJ dongle with a phone number, it's pretty well set in stone. You should have contacted MJ support before activating the dongle, and they could have transferred your pre-existing phone number for you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Nugrl
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 01 Dec 2009
Posts: 354

PostPosted: Mon Sep 20, 2010 4:04 pm    Post subject:

I did search for it and it did not come up in the top of the list like it should have.

so let me ask you this, how can one obtain a phone number from mj without registering it first, so that then you have a mj phone number to transfer to another mj? explain that Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bitstopjoe
Future magicJack CEO


Joined: 13 Sep 2008
Posts: 2844
Location: North East Pennsylvania

PostPosted: Mon Sep 20, 2010 4:15 pm    Post subject:

Nugrl wrote:
I did search for it and it did not come up in the top of the list like it should have.

so let me ask you this, how can one obtain a phone number from mj without registering it first, so that then you have a mj phone number to transfer to another mj? explain that Rolling Eyes


Simple, for example.......... Say you have a MJ which went bad. You buy a NEW MJ. You go online before plugging NEW MJ into your PC. You chat with MJ support and tell them you bought a replacement MJ. They then ask you for your ORIG MJ phone #. Then they do their magic ( ha, no pun) you plug in NEW MJ and now it has your OLD MJ #.
Third base Smile

Joe Sica


Last edited by bitstopjoe on Mon Sep 20, 2010 4:38 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
sagerauru
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 20 Sep 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Sep 20, 2010 4:19 pm    Post subject:

tsmith wrote:
From what I've read on this forum (SEARCH is your friend), once you've activated your MJ dongle with a phone number, it's pretty well set in stone. You should have contacted MJ support before activating the dongle, and they could have transferred your pre-existing phone number for you.

I do not believe that Nugrl has purchased another magicJack and activated it. I think that she is asking whether or not she could transfer her number from an activated magicJack to a new, unactivated one, which is possible according to pbjandfritos.

Also, it does not seem that a simple search would find the answer to this question given that a search for the phrase "transfer phone number" returns 6299 results with none of the threads on the first page directly relating to the search phrase aside from the first thread listed, being this thread. It would be far simpler and quicker to ask the question once more than search through those 6299 results, hoping that one somewhere near the top of the pile contained the answer given that most individuals would not have the time nor the patience to read through all of those threads.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Witeout
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 24 Aug 2010
Posts: 10
Location: Rocklin, CA (Central CA)

PostPosted: Mon Sep 20, 2010 4:35 pm    Post subject:

TSK, TSK, TSK. You shouldn't type in alot of words when searching. I found this issue in less than a minute by typing in "transfer".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nugrl
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 01 Dec 2009
Posts: 354

PostPosted: Mon Sep 20, 2010 4:39 pm    Post subject:

bitstopjoe wrote:
Nugrl wrote:
I did search for it and it did not come up in the top of the list like it should have.

so let me ask you this, how can one obtain a phone number from mj without registering it first, so that then you have a mj phone number to transfer to another mj? explain that Rolling Eyes


Simple.......... You have a MJ which went bad. You buy a NEW MJ. You go online before plugging NEW MJ into your PC. You chat with MJ support and tell them you bought a replacement MJ. They then ask you for your ORIG MJ phone #. Then they do their magic ( ha, no pun) you plug in NEW MJ and now it has your OLD MJ #.
Third base Smile

Joe Sica


Thank you for putting it into simple terms! That was all I really wanted to know, because I keep reading about these new 4th generation mj's out there now, and of course the one I just bought is not one. So since I already activated it, and tagged its number to something, I need to be able to keep that number working now, but preferrably with a "NEW 4TH GENERATION" mj!!! Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bitstopjoe
Future magicJack CEO


Joined: 13 Sep 2008
Posts: 2844
Location: North East Pennsylvania

PostPosted: Mon Sep 20, 2010 4:49 pm    Post subject:

Nugrl wrote:
bitstopjoe wrote:
Nugrl wrote:
I did search for it and it did not come up in the top of the list like it should have.

so let me ask you this, how can one obtain a phone number from mj without registering it first, so that then you have a mj phone number to transfer to another mj? explain that Rolling Eyes


Simple.......... You have a MJ which went bad. You buy a NEW MJ. You go online before plugging NEW MJ into your PC. You chat with MJ support and tell them you bought a replacement MJ. They then ask you for your ORIG MJ phone #. Then they do their magic ( ha, no pun) you plug in NEW MJ and now it has your OLD MJ #.
Third base Smile

Joe Sica


Thank you for putting it into simple terms! That was all I really wanted to know, because I keep reading about these new 4th generation mj's out there now, and of course the one I just bought is not one. So since I already activated it, and tagged its number to something, I need to be able to keep that number working now, but preferrably with a "NEW 4TH GENERATION" mj!!! Wink


You are welcome. Since I have a simple mind ( just not simple minded) it was easy explaining it in simple terms Smile

Joe Sica
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
sagerauru
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 20 Sep 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Sep 20, 2010 4:50 pm    Post subject:

Witeout wrote:
TSK, TSK, TSK. You shouldn't type in alot of words when searching. I found this issue in less than a minute by typing in "transfer".

I don't see how three words is "a lot of words", but yes, I did indeed find the thread that you probably meant here. To me, that should be near if not at the top of the search list given that it includes all words in the query "transfer phone number" in a manner where it could be deduced that it exactly relates to the search. Then again, I don't know how the search for these forums is coded, so using less in the phrase on here may work better than it would searching elsewhere such as Google. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bitstopjoe
Future magicJack CEO


Joined: 13 Sep 2008
Posts: 2844
Location: North East Pennsylvania

PostPosted: Mon Sep 20, 2010 4:52 pm    Post subject:

When I search I always click search for all terms option ( NOT the default) I seem to get better results that way, especially in a multi phrase search.

Joe Sica
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Nugrl
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 01 Dec 2009
Posts: 354

PostPosted: Mon Sep 20, 2010 4:56 pm    Post subject:

bitstopjoe wrote:
Nugrl wrote:
bitstopjoe wrote:
Nugrl wrote:
I did search for it and it did not come up in the top of the list like it should have.

so let me ask you this, how can one obtain a phone number from mj without registering it first, so that then you have a mj phone number to transfer to another mj? explain that Rolling Eyes


Simple.......... You have a MJ which went bad. You buy a NEW MJ. You go online before plugging NEW MJ into your PC. You chat with MJ support and tell them you bought a replacement MJ. They then ask you for your ORIG MJ phone #. Then they do their magic ( ha, no pun) you plug in NEW MJ and now it has your OLD MJ #.
Third base Smile

Joe Sica


Thank you for putting it into simple terms! That was all I really wanted to know, because I keep reading about these new 4th generation mj's out there now, and of course the one I just bought is not one. So since I already activated it, and tagged its number to something, I need to be able to keep that number working now, but preferrably with a "NEW 4TH GENERATION" mj!!! Wink


You are welcome. Since I have a simple mind ( just not simple minded) it was easy explaining it in simple terms Smile

Joe Sica



well things don't need to be so complicated all the time. simple is great! I strive for simplicity, which is very hard to come by most of the time!!! Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tsmith
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 18 Jan 2010
Posts: 420
Location: Utah

PostPosted: Mon Sep 20, 2010 7:56 pm    Post subject:

Gotcha.

Last edited by tsmith on Mon Sep 20, 2010 8:51 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
sagerauru
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 20 Sep 2010
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon Sep 20, 2010 8:18 pm    Post subject:

tsmith wrote:
If you read her original post again, you'll read she already bought the new dongle and activated it. It has a new number assigned to it. My statement stands.

And if you would read her post again...
Nugrl wrote:
The reason I ask is because I just went out and bought a second mj, brought it home, activated it, and only after doing so, read on here that there is a new mj out now with a new chip in it, but I think the one I got is not the newer model. so I want to keep the number that came with the mj that I just bought, but I would love to buy another one with the new chip in it, transfer this phone number to it, and return the other one. can this be done?

...You would see that she wants to know if it is possible so that if she were to go and purchase another magicJack with the newer chip in it if the number from the magicJack she recently purchased could be transferred to the mJ with the new chip. She obviously wants to transfer the number from the last magicJack she purchased to one with the newer chip. My statement stands.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kent10
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 14 Sep 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Sep 20, 2010 8:41 pm    Post subject:

Does anyone know for certain that any remaining time on the old magicJack will carry over to the new one. If time does carry over then that is not a bad deal. If the fourth-generation magicJack is significantly better I may try it. Thanks, Kent
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Nugrl
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 01 Dec 2009
Posts: 354

PostPosted: Mon Sep 20, 2010 8:42 pm    Post subject:

sagerauru wrote:
tsmith wrote:
If you read her original post again, you'll read she already bought the new dongle and activated it. It has a new number assigned to it. My statement stands.

And if you would read her post again...
Nugrl wrote:
The reason I ask is because I just went out and bought a second mj, brought it home, activated it, and only after doing so, read on here that there is a new mj out now with a new chip in it, but I think the one I got is not the newer model. so I want to keep the number that came with the mj that I just bought, but I would love to buy another one with the new chip in it, transfer this phone number to it, and return the other one. can this be done?

...You would see that she wants to know if it is possible so that if she were to go and purchase another magicJack with the newer chip in it if the number from the magicJack she recently purchased could be transferred to the mJ with the new chip. She obviously wants to transfer the number from the last magicJack she purchased to one with the newer chip. My statement stands.



Hello, it's me again..........
to tsmith> sagerauru nailed it right on! how much more explicit could I have been in describing my scenario? let me say it again for you. I already had a mj here, I went out and bought a second mj, brought it home, activated it, got online on this forum, read that there was a "NEW MJ" out on the market with a new chip in it, realized the one that I had just bought, brought home and activated was not one of them, so I posed the question here "Could I transfer the phone number I just received from the second mj after activating it to another, being a 3rd mj, one with the NEW chip in it?" Does any of this make any sense to you yet? Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Unofficial magicJack Forum -> Magic Jack Technical Support All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Powered by phpBB Ultra Turbo Extended Edition Live © 2001-9999, phpBB Group
magicJack and magicJack Plus are trademarks of magicJack LLP. This website is in no way affiliated, endorsed, or sponsored by magicJack LLP, and is an unofficial forum for consumers to openly communicate regarding their experiences with the magicJack products.