Unofficial magicJack Forum

Unofficial magicJack Forum

Your Unofficial magicJack and magicJack Plus phone service information resource
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Try a Thin Client-Get your computer back(priceless)

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Unofficial magicJack Forum -> Using magicJack on a Thin Client
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
nighthawks
MagicJack Expert


Joined: 27 Feb 2010
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2011 1:05 pm    Post subject: Try a Thin Client-Get your computer back(priceless)

I see so many posts with this and that problems.

I've been around computers for a long time, mostly self taught. I ran a network BBS, 4 computers, 7 CD roms online all out of DOS. This all before the Internet took hold. I don't claim to know everything but I have some hands on experience.

When I got MJ I didn't want it on my personal computer so I went looking.
Went to eBay and started looking for a cheep laptop. After searching for a while I put the word magicjack and I saw "thin client magicjack ready".

I searched into this further hummmm thin client, didn't know much about them but I was around them all the time, at work, at the bank, just about everywhere you goto there's a thin client.

I didn't want a big desktop they eat a lot of power @ 24/7/365.
Laptop (smaller) but still eat power, is't not good for them on 24/7/365.

Thin client will save you money in the long run, 12 to 18 watts +/-, desktops can be from 65watts+ laptops 40+ give ot take.

So I checked MJ and what it wants for processor power and ram, 1gig and 512 ram, or more, and with a mini drive is better. It will work on less but then you might run into lag problems, choppy voice....ect.

Here's what I like about thin clients, very small, you and put them just about anywhere, they use between 12 to 18 watts+/- of power saves on your electric bill. They have no moving parts (if you don't have a mini drive) but still quite as a church mouse.

Now don't get me wrong, MJ has it's problems, what you don't want to do is compound it for more problems, thin clients (Magicjack ready) doesn't have the bells a whistles that most people have on their computers. All the Bells and Whistles can play havoc on MJ and cause you a bunch of grief.

Thin client running the latest version of XP SP(x), (you can find them on ebay or other sites) so there already configured to run MJ for you. Most of these pre-config have a cut down version of XP, aka taking out all the bells and whiles that you don't need on the thin client, you just want it to run magicjack, the less you have running on at startup the better MJ will work as far as the thin client goes, MJ has other issues elsewhere, so if you give MJ all the power you can at your end you can eliminate some problems at your end.

This is for the user(s) who have one computer, you'll need a router if you get a thin client or any other computer, look at netgear routers some linksys have had problems in running VOIP. You can search about routers here.

Now not everything is cut and dry, you might have to tweak things some, when I got mine TC all I did was plug in MJ and let do it's thing, once it was registered all I did was make some calls. I had the "echo" problem, found the fix for it. Now I have a phone service for $19.95 a year instead of $48.96 a month just for my phone only, or $587.52 a year.
I paid around 79+shipping for the TC, they very, just have to find the one you want, you will still save money in the long run.

I run a monitor/mouse/keys on it which I also had. After your register and get MJ on the thin client you can remove mon/mouse/keys and use a program called Teamviewer(Free for personal use) install it on the TC and your personal computer it very easy to setup, once it's done you can remote connect to your thin client, I personaly have the mon/mouse/keys still connected. I don't use it.

I've had some issues when I moved from Louisville KY. to Savannah TN. with help from these forms I've been able to get them resolved. Things happen, computers can drive you nuts.

I also understand "budget" you might not be able to purchase the thin client or a router right away, so in your savings of your old phone bill put aside a few dollars, after a while you'll have the money.

Running a thin client (removing all bells and whistles) have your personal computer back (priceless).

This is just my 2 cents. Like I said before, I don't know everything, got my first "real" computer in 1987 and still learning.

I'm not saying it's a perfect solution in running MJ, for myself it has been a good solution. I hope this can help some users who are having issues with MJ and there personal computer, this could be a solution for you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aacease
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 18 Feb 2011
Posts: 1
Location: US

PostPosted: Fri Feb 18, 2011 10:51 pm    Post subject: What about using LogMeIn to remote access TC?

I use LogMeIn to remotely access the desktops on 3 computers and 1 server in my office (everything is also networked together). Do you know what the pros and cons are to using TeamViewer vs. LogMeIn?

Nope - not working. Can make calls but no one hears me. Played around with the headset/telephone settings, but doesn't work when calling via LogmeIn Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nighthawks
MagicJack Expert


Joined: 27 Feb 2010
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 12:57 pm    Post subject: Re: What about using LogMeIn to remote access TC?

aacease wrote:
I use LogMeIn to remotely access the desktops on 3 computers and 1 server in my office (everything is also networked together). Do you know what the pros and cons are to using TeamViewer vs. LogMeIn?

Nope - not working. Can make calls but no one hears me. Played around with the headset/telephone settings, but doesn't work when calling via LogmeIn Sad


As for the T.V. and Logmein pros/cons, I'm not sure, I never used Logmein. I have a monitor/mouse/keys hooked up on my thin client.
I did run T.V. for awhile until I had my TC lock-up and then you can't connect to it with T.V. Also T.V. leaves a NAG screen up when you log off unless you buy it.

Check your sounds in crtl panel, also make sure in devlce mgr. under USB Root Hub (all of them) are not checked to save power.
On your system that runs MJ give it all the power you can, get rid of the bells and whistles, the more you have running on it, it can play havoc with MJ.

Also check this site out, much info. here.
http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/MagicJack/Support_Resources/FAQ
Have a good 1.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
limitme
MagicJack User


Joined: 09 Mar 2010
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 3:42 pm    Post subject: Re: Try a Thin Client-Get your computer back(priceless)

try nettalk duo, get your computer back!

not having to buy a useless thin client, priceless!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Diggs
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 14 May 2010
Posts: 268

PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 9:12 pm    Post subject: Re: Try a Thin Client-Get your computer back(priceless)

limitme wrote:
try nettalk duo, get your computer back!

not having to buy a useless thin client, priceless!


Not sure why you feel the need to bash thin clients as they can do way more than just run a Magic Jack. Maybe it is because you paid more for your Duo than a Magic Jack and a thin client combined. What ever the reason, seems you are confused as well as this is the MJ forums, not the Duo forums. Your Duo worship belongs in the Duo forums. You look a bit clueless with those comments in here.


BTW Nighthawks - Nice write-up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
limitme
MagicJack User


Joined: 09 Mar 2010
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Mon Feb 21, 2011 11:02 pm    Post subject: Re: Try a Thin Client-Get your computer back(priceless)

Diggs wrote:
limitme wrote:
try nettalk duo, get your computer back!

not having to buy a useless thin client, priceless!


Not sure why you feel the need to bash thin clients as they can do way more than just run a Magic Jack. Maybe it is because you paid more for your Duo than a Magic Jack and a thin client combined. What ever the reason, seems you are confused as well as this is the MJ forums, not the Duo forums. Your Duo worship belongs in the Duo forums. You look a bit clueless with those comments in here.


BTW Nighthawks - Nice write-up.


lol. i bought a thin client. i have yet to buy net talk. after looking at alot of reviews...i'm thinking of trying it.

net talk is cheaper than a thin client.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nighthawks
MagicJack Expert


Joined: 27 Feb 2010
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2011 2:05 am    Post subject: Re: Try a Thin Client-Get your computer back(priceless)

Diggs wrote:
BTW Nighthawks - Nice write-up.


Thanks I appreciate that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Diggs
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 14 May 2010
Posts: 268

PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2011 7:42 pm    Post subject: Re: Try a Thin Client-Get your computer back(priceless)

limitme wrote:

net talk is cheaper than a thin client.


Wow! Are you really that clueless? (Shaking head sadly....)

Over 300 thin client listings for under $50. Ummm - let's see - a Duo is $70? I'm not saying they all can run a MJ but many can.

http://shop.ebay.com/i.html?LH_Price=..50%40c&rt=nc&LH_BIN=1&_nkw=thin%20client&_fln=1&_mPrRngCbx=1&_trksid=p3286.c0.m283
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
limitme
MagicJack User


Joined: 09 Mar 2010
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2011 11:57 pm    Post subject: Re: Try a Thin Client-Get your computer back(priceless)

Diggs wrote:
limitme wrote:

net talk is cheaper than a thin client.


Wow! Are you really that clueless? (Shaking head sadly....)

Over 300 thin client listings for under $50. Ummm - let's see - a Duo is $70? I'm not saying they all can run a MJ but many can.

http://shop.ebay.com/i.html?LH_Price=..50%40c&rt=nc&LH_BIN=1&_nkw=thin%20client&_fln=1&_mPrRngCbx=1&_trksid=p3286.c0.m283


i thought it was $40....

either way....even at 70....with shipping, that is the same price as a thin client.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Unofficial magicJack Forum -> Using magicJack on a Thin Client All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Powered by phpBB Ultra Turbo Extended Edition Live © 2001-9999, phpBB Group
magicJack and magicJack Plus are trademarks of magicJack LLP. This website is in no way affiliated, endorsed, or sponsored by magicJack LLP, and is an unofficial forum for consumers to openly communicate regarding their experiences with the magicJack products.