Unofficial magicJack Forum

Unofficial magicJack Forum

Your Unofficial magicJack and magicJack Plus phone service information resource
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
trying PAP2

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Unofficial magicJack Forum -> magicJack Tips, Tricks, and Hacks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
SARCES
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 17 Sep 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 1:23 am    Post subject: trying PAP2

i got a pap2 few months ago already setup and then the upgrade happened. ive been reading but since i didnt do the set up is hard for me to play catch up with programing it and i need to get it back working if someone can walkme thru i would apreciate it thru a pm or other source of comunication...

thnx

SARCES
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tony
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 04 May 2008
Posts: 509
Location: Vancouver, BC

PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 2:42 am    Post subject: Re: trying PAP2

SARCES wrote:
i got a pap2 few months ago already setup and then the upgrade happened. ive been reading but since i didnt do the set up is hard for me to play catch up with programing it and i need to get it back working if someone can walkme thru i would apreciate it thru a pm or other source of comunication...

thnx SARCES


Do a search for ATA, there's lots of discussion about getting MJ to work on an Analogue Telephone Adapter after the June MJ update. Seems some people have been able to do it. See http://www.phoneservicesupport.com/ata-mjmd5-dead-yet-t7290.html

I've moved on and got a subscription to another paid VOIP service which I run on my ATA so haven't been following the developments with MJ and ATA's.

Post your results if you are successful.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SARCES
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 17 Sep 2009
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 9:32 am    Post subject: trying PAP2

i have read LOTS of posts but every new one i read confuses me a little bit more and i dont know where to start......1 post says to do this but i dont know how to do that so i go with the one i know a little but it gets to the point where i dont know where to go... :S please i really do need help with this..... i know a little about computers but not familiar with applicaations mention here
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tony
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 04 May 2008
Posts: 509
Location: Vancouver, BC

PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 10:04 am    Post subject: Re: trying PAP2

SARCES wrote:
i have read LOTS of posts but every new one i read confuses me a little bit more and i dont know where to start......1 post says to do this but i dont know how to do that so i go with the one i know a little but it gets to the point where i dont know where to go... :S please i really do need help with this..... i know a little about computers but not familiar with applicaations mention here


For me, the fixes were beyond the effort I wanted to invest in trying to get MJ to work on an ATA so I gave up. But there are lots of helpful people in this forum, try laying out what you've tried and the result. You'll get some specific suggestions , but without details of what you've tried, it's hard to suggest things to try.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
synchron
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 15 May 2008
Posts: 230

PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 1:57 pm    Post subject: Re: trying PAP2

SARCES wrote:
i have read LOTS of posts but every new one i read confuses me a little bit more and i dont know where to start......1 post says to do this but i dont know how to do that so i go with the one i know a little but it gets to the point where i dont know where to go... :S please i really do need help with this..... i know a little about computers but not familiar with applicaations mention here


Since the June 09 upgrade, most ATA's will not work by directly entering the SIP credentials. So then you have to ask yourself, "Is it worth it to still use MJ and my ATA but I need to leave my PC running 24/7?" If you say yes, then go the MJMD5 method. If no, then forget MJ/ATA and move on to something else like Sipsorcery/GV.

Of course, if your router's FW is DDWRT capable and/or "Tomato" capable, then you've got options, but those are only for the "brave & daring".

Synchron Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tony
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 04 May 2008
Posts: 509
Location: Vancouver, BC

PostPosted: Fri Sep 18, 2009 5:56 pm    Post subject: Re: trying PAP2

synchron wrote:
Since the June 09 upgrade, most ATA's will not work by directly entering the SIP credentials. So then you have to ask yourself, "Is it worth it to still use MJ and my ATA but I need to leave my PC running 24/7?" If you say yes, then go the MJMD5 method. If no, then forget MJ/ATA and move on to something else like Sipsorcery/GV. Synchron Cool


Well said. To the original poster, if you really want/need to use ATA, you'll have to keep at it. You'll need to give specifics to get specific suggestions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VaHam
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 13 Feb 2008
Posts: 851

PostPosted: Sat Sep 19, 2009 1:35 pm    Post subject:

Since the MJ upgrade the authenticate method has changed so there must be an additional program running to intercept the MJ data stream and calculate the new authentication data and forward the data to the magic servers.

There are two software approaches I am aware of. One is to run a modified version of Asterisk which is an elegant solution but not something for the technically challenged.

The second is to run proxy software somewhere on your LAN which intercepts the MJ packets and handles the modification and forwarding to the magicjack servers. There are different versions a proxy discussed here and that is why it seems so complex. The only real difference is on what device you run the proxy.

The proxy can be run on any windows computer on your LAN which is always on when you need to use the phone. It can also be run from any computer under linux. Since some routers actually run linux under the hood it can be run on these routers as well.

I hope that helps you understand the basics so you can chose a solution most suited to your desires.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Unofficial magicJack Forum -> magicJack Tips, Tricks, and Hacks All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Powered by phpBB Ultra Turbo Extended Edition Live © 2001-9999, phpBB Group
magicJack and magicJack Plus are trademarks of magicJack LLP. This website is in no way affiliated, endorsed, or sponsored by magicJack LLP, and is an unofficial forum for consumers to openly communicate regarding their experiences with the magicJack products.