Unofficial magicJack Forum

Unofficial magicJack Forum

Your Unofficial magicJack and magicJack Plus phone service information resource
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
UDP Ports

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Unofficial magicJack Forum -> magicJack Tips, Tricks, and Hacks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
brudertl
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 09 Nov 2008
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sun Nov 09, 2008 6:26 pm    Post subject: UDP Ports

Does anyone have the FULL list of UDP ports MJ uses? If I only allow 5060-5070 outobund on my firewall people cannot hear me talk nor do I hear them.

But if I allow ports 5060-50000, it works just fine. So obviously there are more outbound UDP ports then they tell us.

Anyone know them all?

Thanks,
Troy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
az2008
MagicJack Sensei


Joined: 20 Aug 2008
Posts: 1404
Location: Tempe, AZ

PostPosted: Sun Nov 09, 2008 6:40 pm    Post subject: Re: UDP Ports

brudertl wrote:
Does anyone have the FULL list of UDP ports MJ uses? If I only allow 5060-5070 outobund on my firewall people cannot hear me talk nor do I hear them.

But if I allow ports 5060-50000, it works just fine. So obviously there are more outbound UDP ports then they tell us.


From what I've seen, when you start MJ it opens a UDP connection to the MJ proxy server on its port 5070. (I haven't seen 5060 to 5069 used).

When you place (or receive) a call, it opens a UDP connection to the MJ vms1 server on its port between 10000 and 20000.

I haven't seen any reason to open ports on my router. All connections are originated by my MJ software to the MJ servers.

There have been recent reports of 30-second disconnects which seem to point to a port that isn't opened on the client system. But, when they flashed their router's firmware to the Tomato firmware, they didn't have any problems (and didn't have to open any ports).

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brudertl
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 09 Nov 2008
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Sun Nov 09, 2008 6:55 pm    Post subject:

Thanks for the feedback. It helps narrow down the outbound ports I allow.

I typically have a rule for each and every in/outbound packet. (Yeah, I'm a firewall freak).

thanks,
troy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
az2008
MagicJack Sensei


Joined: 20 Aug 2008
Posts: 1404
Location: Tempe, AZ

PostPosted: Sun Nov 09, 2008 7:44 pm    Post subject:

brudertl wrote:
Thanks for the feedback. It helps narrow down the outbound ports I allow.


It doesn't narrow them down too much since you have to open 10k ports. Smile If you can open outbound ports based upon the destination address, you can get the destination address (a server named vms1.{city name}.talk4free.com, where the city name is the same as the proxy1 server it connects to when you start MJ) using wireshark.

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
brudertl
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 09 Nov 2008
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Mon Nov 10, 2008 7:48 am    Post subject:

hi Mark - yep, that's exactly what I did. There's a destination part of the rule for the 62 servers in my city range.

Troy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hsweiss
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 28 Mar 2008
Posts: 563
Location: Maryland

PostPosted: Tue Nov 11, 2008 2:47 pm    Post subject:

From the magicJack FAQ:

What network ports does magicJack use?

Answer


magicJack uses port 5060 and 5070 UDP.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
az2008
MagicJack Sensei


Joined: 20 Aug 2008
Posts: 1404
Location: Tempe, AZ

PostPosted: Tue Nov 11, 2008 3:10 pm    Post subject:

hsweiss wrote:
From the magicJack FAQ:

magicJack uses port 5060 and 5070 UDP.


That's incorrect. That's just the port they use when you start MJ. It's a control connection. (I've only seen it use 5070, but maybe there are conditions I haven't seen yet where it uses 5060-5069).

When a call is placed or received, MJ uses a UDP port in the range of 10000-20000. That's where the heavy traffic occurs.

What's misleading about the MJ FAQ (aside from omitting ports) is that most people ask this question in reference to what they need to do to their firewall. They get the idea they need to open 5060-5070 to allow external connections (incoming). But, these ports are on the MJ server.

The MJ software connects to these ports as destination ports on the MJ server. The MJ software doesn't listen on local ports waiting for the MJ server to connect (which is the way the MJ support group describes it when they tell people to open ports on their firewall).

Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jbat
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 7:42 pm    Post subject: Why 10-65535 in my system

az2008 wrote:
hsweiss wrote:
From the magicJack FAQ:

magicJack uses port 5060 and 5070 UDP.


That's incorrect. That's just the port they use when you start MJ. It's a control connection. (I've only seen it use 5070, but maybe there are conditions I haven't seen yet where it uses 5060-5069).

When a call is placed or received, MJ uses a UDP port in the range of 10000-20000. That's where the heavy traffic occurs.

What's misleading about the MJ FAQ (aside from omitting ports) is that most people ask this question in reference to what they need to do to their firewall. They get the idea they need to open 5060-5070 to allow external connections (incoming). But, these ports are on the MJ server.

The MJ software connects to these ports as destination ports on the MJ server. The MJ software doesn't listen on local ports waiting for the MJ server to connect (which is the way the MJ support group describes it when they tell people to open ports on their firewall).

Mark

\

Using a Verizon Westal modem I need to open UDP 10000 thru 65535 or MJ doesn't work (set to medium security).
I have yet to receive a satisfactory answer. 10-20000 doesn't work for me. Cool jbat
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Unofficial magicJack Forum -> magicJack Tips, Tricks, and Hacks All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Powered by phpBB Ultra Turbo Extended Edition Live © 2001-9999, phpBB Group
magicJack and magicJack Plus are trademarks of magicJack LLP. This website is in no way affiliated, endorsed, or sponsored by magicJack LLP, and is an unofficial forum for consumers to openly communicate regarding their experiences with the magicJack products.