Unofficial magicJack Forum

Unofficial magicJack Forum

Your Unofficial magicJack and magicJack Plus phone service information resource
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Unplugged MJ

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Unofficial magicJack Forum -> Magic Jack Technical Support
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
infojunkies
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 16 Feb 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2012 10:06 pm    Post subject: Unplugged MJ

Hi,

I was helping a friend and, without thinking, I unplugged the MagicJack from her Windows XP PC *without* going through the "Safely Remove Hardware" step. MJ will no longer work for her. Do I have any recourse other than buying her a new MJ? And if I have to buy a new one, how do I get her the same phone number she used to have?

Thanks very much for your help!

Lou
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Paul777
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 20 Apr 2010
Posts: 168
Location: Toronto, ON

PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2012 10:10 pm    Post subject:

You might as well get an MJ+ at this point so you don't need to leave computer on to make or receive calls. Just be sure to register it to same account the first time around. You will need to plug it into laptop (only for set up).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
conniemadagain
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 31 Mar 2009
Posts: 396

PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2012 10:26 pm    Post subject: Re: Unplugged MJ

Never heard this before ...

Have you tried shutting down the puter and rebooting w/the mj plugged in?

infojunkies wrote:
Hi,

I was helping a friend and, without thinking, I unplugged the MagicJack from her Windows XP PC *without* going through the "Safely Remove Hardware" step. MJ will no longer work for her. Do I have any recourse other than buying her a new MJ? And if I have to buy a new one, how do I get her the same phone number she used to have?

Thanks very much for your help!

Lou
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
infojunkies
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 16 Feb 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2012 11:33 pm    Post subject: Re: Unplugged MJ

conniemadagain wrote:
Never heard this before ...

Have you tried shutting down the puter and rebooting w/the mj plugged in?



Yeah ... doesn't seem to work. The MJ support website specifically warns not to do this, b/c it's actually a flash drive that gets updated every 3 seconds by "softphone", so it gets corrupted (along with all the programming, I presume) if you just unplug it. At least that's what THEY say - I was hoping some folks had a better idea.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Paul777
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 20 Apr 2010
Posts: 168
Location: Toronto, ON

PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2012 9:28 am    Post subject:

Or try it on another computer ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
infojunkies
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 16 Feb 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Feb 17, 2012 11:27 am    Post subject:

Just got off Chat with MJ support - they seem to think there's something I can do to get the old MJ going again. I'll try it later (when I'm at her house), and post a solution if it works. Thanks for the help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
infojunkies
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 16 Feb 2012
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2012 12:28 pm    Post subject:

Okay, MJ chat support fixed the problem by having me move the MJ to another USB port on the same PC. Thought I'd let you know. Thanks for the help!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cell14
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 23 May 2009
Posts: 673
Location: South FL

PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2012 9:33 pm    Post subject:

Quote:
The MJ support website specifically warns not to do this, b/c it's actually a flash drive that gets updated every 3 seconds by "softphone", so it gets corrupted (along with all the programming, I presume) if you just unplug it. At least that's what THEY say

They say all kinds of things.
I unplugged my MJ over the years probably 500+ times without any problems and without taking any specific actions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Paul777
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 20 Apr 2010
Posts: 168
Location: Toronto, ON

PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2012 11:02 pm    Post subject:

infojunkies wrote:
Okay, MJ chat support fixed the problem by having me move the MJ to another USB port on the same PC. Thought I'd let you know. Thanks for the help!


Good stuff. Glad it's fixed !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
black_icon
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 27 Sep 2011
Posts: 191
Location: out of nowhere

PostPosted: Mon Feb 27, 2012 11:38 pm    Post subject:

@ infojunkies,

You should have tried it first before visiting the chat line but anyway, I'm glad that it's fixed now!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Unofficial magicJack Forum -> Magic Jack Technical Support All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Powered by phpBB Ultra Turbo Extended Edition Live © 2001-9999, phpBB Group
magicJack and magicJack Plus are trademarks of magicJack LLP. This website is in no way affiliated, endorsed, or sponsored by magicJack LLP, and is an unofficial forum for consumers to openly communicate regarding their experiences with the magicJack products.