Unofficial magicJack Forum

Unofficial magicJack Forum

Your Unofficial magicJack and magicJack Plus phone service information resource
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Upgrading RAM in HP Thin Clients?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Unofficial magicJack Forum -> The Lounge
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
testing123
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 13 Nov 2007
Posts: 703

PostPosted: Fri Apr 25, 2008 7:49 pm    Post subject: Upgrading RAM in HP Thin Clients?

Got about 4 or 5 HP Thin Clients (mostly T5700s w/ 256MB Flash + 256MB RAM) and was trying to upgrade the RAM.

They come with 256MB PC100 Laptop SDRAM (PC2700 DDR CL2.5) and these models can go up to 512MB.

Tried Corsair Value Select 512MB PC100 Laptop SDRAM (PC2700 DDR CL2.5) and they did not like them (no boot). Any recommendations on what WILL work at a very good price??

If you have a suggestion, let me know. Thanks in advance.

(PS, using for Linux and other tasks so that is why the desire to upgrade RAM not so much the Flash).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
VaHam
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 13 Feb 2008
Posts: 851

PostPosted: Sat Apr 26, 2008 9:07 am    Post subject: Re: Upgrading RAM in HP Thin Clients?

testing123 wrote:
Got about 4 or 5 HP Thin Clients (mostly T5700s w/ 256MB Flash + 256MB RAM) and was trying to upgrade the RAM.

They come with 256MB PC100 Laptop SDRAM (PC2700 DDR CL2.5) and these models can go up to 512MB.

Tried Corsair Value Select 512MB PC100 Laptop SDRAM (PC2700 DDR CL2.5) and they did not like them (no boot). Any recommendations on what WILL work at a very good price??

If you have a suggestion, let me know. Thanks in advance.

(PS, using for Linux and other tasks so that is why the desire to upgrade RAM not so much the Flash).


I used these http://www.pcmemorystore.com/HP_Compaq-Thin_Client_Series-T5710-ram.htm and they worked like a champ!
Current price $25.75 + free shipping. This was the best price I could find for memory known to work in the thin clients.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
testing123
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 13 Nov 2007
Posts: 703

PostPosted: Sat Apr 26, 2008 9:45 am    Post subject: Re: Upgrading RAM in HP Thin Clients?

VaHam wrote:
testing123 wrote:
Got about 4 or 5 HP Thin Clients (mostly T5700s w/ 256MB Flash + 256MB RAM) and was trying to upgrade the RAM.

They come with 256MB PC100 Laptop SDRAM (PC2700 DDR CL2.5) and these models can go up to 512MB.

Tried Corsair Value Select 512MB PC100 Laptop SDRAM (PC2700 DDR CL2.5) and they did not like them (no boot). Any recommendations on what WILL work at a very good price??

If you have a suggestion, let me know. Thanks in advance.

(PS, using for Linux and other tasks so that is why the desire to upgrade RAM not so much the Flash).


I used these http://www.pcmemorystore.com/HP_Compaq-Thin_Client_Series-T5710-ram.htm and they worked like a champ!
Current price $25.75 + free shipping. This was the best price I could find for memory known to work in the thin clients.


Thanks VaHam .... had seen that store but wasn't sure about reputability (and they didn't take Paypal). Needed a confirmation from anyone who has ordered from them.

Appreciate the info, I will order them shortly!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
VaHam
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 13 Feb 2008
Posts: 851

PostPosted: Sat Apr 26, 2008 10:44 am    Post subject: Re: Upgrading RAM in HP Thin Clients?

testing123 wrote:
VaHam wrote:
testing123 wrote:
Got about 4 or 5 HP Thin Clients (mostly T5700s w/ 256MB Flash + 256MB RAM) and was trying to upgrade the RAM.

They come with 256MB PC100 Laptop SDRAM (PC2700 DDR CL2.5) and these models can go up to 512MB.

Tried Corsair Value Select 512MB PC100 Laptop SDRAM (PC2700 DDR CL2.5) and they did not like them (no boot). Any recommendations on what WILL work at a very good price??

If you have a suggestion, let me know. Thanks in advance.

(PS, using for Linux and other tasks so that is why the desire to upgrade RAM not so much the Flash).


I used these http://www.pcmemorystore.com/HP_Compaq-Thin_Client_Series-T5710-ram.htm and they worked like a champ!
Current price $25.75 + free shipping. This was the best price I could find for memory known to work in the thin clients.


Thanks VaHam .... had seen that store but wasn't sure about reputability (and they didn't take Paypal). Needed a confirmation from anyone who has ordered from them.

Appreciate the info, I will order them shortly!


Your Welcome!

They shipped fast and had good communications. No problems with cc info here from the order so I think they are pretty safe and nice to deal with.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
testing123
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 13 Nov 2007
Posts: 703

PostPosted: Sat Apr 26, 2008 10:54 am    Post subject: Re: Upgrading RAM in HP Thin Clients?

VaHam wrote:
testing123 wrote:
VaHam wrote:
testing123 wrote:
Got about 4 or 5 HP Thin Clients (mostly T5700s w/ 256MB Flash + 256MB RAM) and was trying to upgrade the RAM.

They come with 256MB PC100 Laptop SDRAM (PC2700 DDR CL2.5) and these models can go up to 512MB.

Tried Corsair Value Select 512MB PC100 Laptop SDRAM (PC2700 DDR CL2.5) and they did not like them (no boot). Any recommendations on what WILL work at a very good price??

If you have a suggestion, let me know. Thanks in advance.

(PS, using for Linux and other tasks so that is why the desire to upgrade RAM not so much the Flash).


I used these http://www.pcmemorystore.com/HP_Compaq-Thin_Client_Series-T5710-ram.htm and they worked like a champ!
Current price $25.75 + free shipping. This was the best price I could find for memory known to work in the thin clients.


Thanks VaHam .... had seen that store but wasn't sure about reputability (and they didn't take Paypal). Needed a confirmation from anyone who has ordered from them.

Appreciate the info, I will order them shortly!


Your Welcome!

They shipped fast and had good communications. No problems with cc info here from the order so I think they are pretty safe and nice to deal with.


Thanks. Order already placed (only thing is they don't ship until Tuesday if order placed after a certain time on Friday).

As for CC, when Paypal is not an option, use "one-time use"/online only cards that have user-specified credit limit and expiration date. Just prefer Paypal when it is a new Vendor or one that I don't deal with often. Less chance of exposure if the individual Vendor gets hacked (for example, that happened a few months back to Geeks.com)

Anyway, I digress ... thanks a ton for the referral.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
testing123
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 13 Nov 2007
Posts: 703

PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2008 9:59 pm    Post subject:

VaHam: memory received and installed in two T5700's -- works great! Have to be patient on their shipping but otherwise no issues. Thanks again for the referral.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
VaHam
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 13 Feb 2008
Posts: 851

PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2008 5:17 pm    Post subject:

testing123 wrote:
VaHam: memory received and installed in two T5700's -- works great! Have to be patient on their shipping but otherwise no issues. Thanks again for the referral.


Your Welcome testing! Their shipping to me was very fast it may just depend on stock levels. Anyway glad it is working for you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hazlett
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 07 Jul 2008
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat Aug 23, 2008 8:53 pm    Post subject:

I cannot find the sdram on my t5520 ! It might be hidden under the heat sink ??

Yeah, I do know what it looks like......still can't find it.

Hints ????
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
booyah5
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 01 Aug 2008
Posts: 108

PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2008 4:53 pm    Post subject:

Post a picture. There doesn't seem to be any pics online for the t5520. You can upload it here: http://tinypic.com/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
booyah5
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 01 Aug 2008
Posts: 108

PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2008 5:03 pm    Post subject:

It just occurred to me, that this device might have soldered in memory and thus non-upgradeable. But post a pic to confirm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
hazlett
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 07 Jul 2008
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2008 6:35 pm    Post subject:

Thanks, guys......but I have been informed that neither a t5520 nor CE will work with MJ, and the upgrade necessarty is not a good idea, so I will set this one up as an internet appliance for the grandkids.

I do have a 5700 series on the way, via eBay.....it should be here this week.

Again, nice to know I have a place to post my puzzles....thanks again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
testing123
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 13 Nov 2007
Posts: 703

PostPosted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 6:14 am    Post subject:

hazlett wrote:
Thanks, guys......but I have been informed that neither a t5520 nor CE will work with MJ, and the upgrade necessarty is not a good idea, so I will set this one up as an internet appliance for the grandkids.

I do have a 5700 series on the way, via eBay.....it should be here this week.

Again, nice to know I have a place to post my puzzles....thanks again.


@hazlett: Somehow I didn't get the Email notification on your post ...

Yes, IIRC, t5520 is a no-go with any RAM or expansion card upgrade.

As you mentioned, they could be used as a low-end Internet Appliance -- in fact, probably perfect use (except for limited RAM) because if I had $1 for every time I have seen/heard of people who have serious virus issues because they share the PC with the kids ... LOL

Or even used as a router if you use a USB to Ethernet converter to provide another NIC.

Now the weird part is that I believe they are USB 2.0, so they have nice speed for USB devices ... just not enough RAM or PCI expandability to do too much.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Unofficial magicJack Forum -> The Lounge All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Powered by phpBB Ultra Turbo Extended Edition Live © 2001-9999, phpBB Group
magicJack and magicJack Plus are trademarks of magicJack LLP. This website is in no way affiliated, endorsed, or sponsored by magicJack LLP, and is an unofficial forum for consumers to openly communicate regarding their experiences with the magicJack products.