Unofficial magicJack Forum

Unofficial magicJack Forum

Your Unofficial magicJack and magicJack Plus phone service information resource
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
Scheduled restarts

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Unofficial magicJack Forum -> Using magicJack on a Thin Client
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
johnvan
MagicJack User


Joined: 14 Mar 2010
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Fri Apr 02, 2010 9:44 pm    Post subject: Scheduled restarts

I thought I'd read somewhere on here about setting up a nightly or weekly restart.
How do you do this?
Is it required, I've only been up and running for a week and no problems yet.
I thought I saw something in the BIOS but didn't look at it too much.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VaHam
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 13 Feb 2008
Posts: 851

PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2010 4:31 am    Post subject: Task Scheduler

I just set up a task in the task scheduler (located in control panel) with the following command:

C:\Windows\system32\shutdown.exe /r /t 01 /f

and the start in: C:\Windows\system32

Then just use the task scheduler to select when the task runs.

The meaning of the / commands are as follows:

/r restart
/t 01 wait 01 seconds before performing the task after it is started
/f force the closing on any open applications
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
slceso
MagicJack User


Joined: 18 Feb 2010
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Mon Apr 05, 2010 10:53 am    Post subject:

VaHam,

I think they are dashes, not slashes.. maybe doesn't matter:

near bottom of post
http://www.phoneservicesupport.com/tring-to-register-mj-again-after-task-reboot-what-gives-t8715.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VaHam
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 13 Feb 2008
Posts: 851

PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2010 8:38 am    Post subject:

slceso wrote:
VaHam,

I think they are dashes, not slashes.. maybe doesn't matter:

near bottom of post
http://www.phoneservicesupport.com/tring-to-register-mj-again-after-task-reboot-what-gives-t8715.html


Actually both do work!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johnvan
MagicJack User


Joined: 14 Mar 2010
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2010 10:30 am    Post subject:

Thanks, I got that working for restarts in the middle of the night twice a week.
One note though, task scheduler wasn't enabled to start automatically so when I tried to test the task it said that task scheduler wasn't running.
In order to get task scheduler running on startup do this:
START > My Computer (Right click and select Manage)
Double click "Services and Applications" then Double click "services"
Scroll down to Task scheduler, right click, select properties and under Startup type select Automatic.
I believe you also need to commit the changes with the green padlock at the bottom.

Thanks for the help on this guys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VaHam
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 13 Feb 2008
Posts: 851

PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2010 6:21 pm    Post subject:

johnvan wrote:
Thanks, I got that working for restarts in the middle of the night twice a week.
One note though, task scheduler wasn't enabled to start automatically so when I tried to test the task it said that task scheduler wasn't running.
In order to get task scheduler running on startup do this:
START > My Computer (Right click and select Manage)
Double click "Services and Applications" then Double click "services"
Scroll down to Task scheduler, right click, select properties and under Startup type select Automatic.
I believe you also need to commit the changes with the green padlock at the bottom.

Thanks for the help on this guys.


Your right about task scheduler service not being set to start automatically by default and I for some reason always forget to tell folks about that. Glad you got it figured out and running!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kulumbaa
MagicJack Contributor


Joined: 26 Apr 2008
Posts: 57

PostPosted: Sat Apr 10, 2010 10:25 am    Post subject:

1 TC up 78 days and humming strong. and another up 55 days and strong. no reboots needed here
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tribute3
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 11 Apr 2010
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 10:01 am    Post subject: Re: Task Scheduler

VaHam wrote:
I just set up a task in the task scheduler (located in control panel) with the following command:

C:\Windows\system32\shutdown.exe /r /t 01 /f

and the start in: C:\Windows\system32

Then just use the task scheduler to select when the task runs.

The meaning of the / commands are as follows:

/r restart
/t 01 wait 01 seconds before performing the task after it is started
/f force the closing on any open applications


How do you add this command to task scheduler? Its not in the list and doesnt provide an option to run commands, at least i dont see it. Did u put it in a notepad file, and run from C:\Windows\system32?

Sorry for the trouble and thanks for a great idea.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
johnvan
MagicJack User


Joined: 14 Mar 2010
Posts: 39

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 10:19 am    Post subject:

Just navigate to the shutdown .exe when your'e in the task manager setup wizard select it and type the rest in.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tribute3
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 11 Apr 2010
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 10:23 am    Post subject:

nevermind, i figured it out Smile

Now its bullet proof Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tribute3
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 11 Apr 2010
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 10:23 am    Post subject:

Didnt notice you posted johnvan, thank you
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
VaHam
Dan Should Pay Me


Joined: 13 Feb 2008
Posts: 851

PostPosted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 10:25 am    Post subject: Re: Task Scheduler

Tribute3 wrote:
VaHam wrote:
I just set up a task in the task scheduler (located in control panel) with the following command:

C:\Windows\system32\shutdown.exe /r /t 01 /f

and the start in: C:\Windows\system32

Then just use the task scheduler to select when the task runs.

The meaning of the / commands are as follows:

/r restart
/t 01 wait 01 seconds before performing the task after it is started
/f force the closing on any open applications


How do you add this command to task scheduler? Its not in the list and doesnt provide an option to run commands, at least i dont see it. Did u put it in a notepad file, and run from C:\Windows\system32?

Sorry for the trouble and thanks for a great idea.


Click the BROWSE button under the list and navigate to C:\Windows\system32\shutdown.exe select it then add the commands afterward.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tribute3
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 11 Apr 2010
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Wed Apr 28, 2010 9:20 pm    Post subject:

have any of you guys had luck with getting the time to sync via NTP?
i get
"An error occurred while Windows was synchronizing with ANY SERVER"
servers include, ntp pool, windows, gov, and a few others.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Tribute3
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 11 Apr 2010
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Thu Apr 29, 2010 10:25 am    Post subject:

Tribute3 wrote:
have any of you guys had luck with getting the time to sync via NTP?
i get
"An error occurred while Windows was synchronizing with ANY SERVER"
servers include, ntp pool, windows, gov, and a few others.


If anyone is interested in keeping the scheduled restarts acurate using a NTP, you will need the following hotfix for the June 2007 image for a hp t5710. It repaird the update feature in XPe. Smile

December 2007 Cumulative Time Zone Update for Microsoft Windows Operating Systems

ftp://ftp.hp.com/pub/softpaq/sp38001-38500/sp38172.exe
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gpsuf
MagicJack Newbie


Joined: 11 Mar 2009
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Oct 24, 2010 11:59 pm    Post subject:

Hi,

Can somebody help to explain why we should reboot the Thin Client periodically? Is that because of possible virus, spamware or MJ memory leaks?

I do not see any 'commit' command in the reboot script so I guess that there is nothing from the current run to be be saved before reboot, e.g. MJ update.

Just assume that there are no viruses and my TC could run for a while (I have a T5720 (512/512)), do I need to reboot periodically?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Diggs
Dan isn't smart enough to hire me


Joined: 14 May 2010
Posts: 268

PostPosted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 7:53 am    Post subject:

gpsuf wrote:
Hi,

Can somebody help to explain why we should reboot the Thin Client periodically?


Some software and processes have a memory leak that continues to use more memory as time goes on. Windows XPe in itself is very stable but there may be circumstances that cause it to slowly consume more memory as time goes on. You can use Task Manager to check (Ctl-Alt-Del) memory usuage after a week/month and see how your system does. Mine reboots every month and seems to leak about 15-25 MB during that time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
murugan
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 26 May 2011
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2012 1:38 pm    Post subject:

johnvan wrote:
Thanks, I got that working for restarts in the middle of the night twice a week.
One note though, task scheduler wasn't enabled to start automatically so when I tried to test the task it said that task scheduler wasn't running.
In order to get task scheduler running on startup do this:
START > My Computer (Right click and select Manage)
Double click "Services and Applications" then Double click "services"
Scroll down to Task scheduler, right click, select properties and under Startup type select Automatic.
I believe you also need to commit the changes with the green padlock at the bottom.

Thanks for the help on this guys.


Some notes:
01 - You can also start the Task Scheduler from Control Panel -> Admin Tools -> Services -> Task Scheduler
Edit: added 01a - You could also start the Task Scheduler from the cmd prompt: Start -> Run -> control schedtasks
02 - Whichever way you get to Task Scheduler, right clicking it (Properties) and changing the "Run" state to "Automatic" may sometimes fail as the task scheduler has dependencies.
03 - If the Task Scheduler fails to "Start", check its dependencies - click on the Dependencies tab on the top. Task scheduler depends on RPC (sub set DCOM) and Event log (really not necessary) but add them if you want task scheduler to work.
04 - Use PowerOff.exe - a free, slim, far more useful and sophisticated program (can also be made to run as a service) Why run as a service? Because Windows loads all services first. Thanks for the program Jorgen Bosman. PowerOff is a misnomer - it can also reboot, etc.
See http://users.telenet.be/jbosman/poweroff/poweroff.htm

Please remember to "Commit" all changes to EWF after you are done.


Last edited by murugan on Wed Aug 22, 2012 10:47 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
murugan
magicJack Apprentice


Joined: 26 May 2011
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2012 1:45 pm    Post subject: Re: Task Scheduler

VaHam wrote:
I just set up a task in the task scheduler (located in control panel) with the following command:

C:\Windows\system32\shutdown.exe /r /t 01 /f

and the start in: C:\Windows\system32

Then just use the task scheduler to select when the task runs.

The meaning of the / commands are as follows:

/r restart
/t 01 wait 01 seconds before performing the task after it is started
/f force the closing on any open applications


If you are running Service Pack 1, then you don't have a way to add the extra switches to the shutdown.exe command - viz: -r -t 10 -c "comment - max 127 chars".
A work around is to create a shutdown.bat with a simple line with shutdown.exe -r -t 10 -f -c "MJ is rebooting". Point to the shutdown.bat when you are creating a scheduled task.

You could also use PowerOff.exe - a free, slim, far more useful and sophisticated program (can also be made to run as a service) Why run as a service? Because Windows loads all services first. Thanks for the program Jorgen Bosman. PowerOff is a misnomer - it can also reboot, etc.
See http://users.telenet.be/jbosman/poweroff/poweroff.htm

Please remember to "Commit" all changes to EWF after you are done.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Unofficial magicJack Forum -> Using magicJack on a Thin Client All times are GMT - 4 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Powered by phpBB Ultra Turbo Extended Edition Live © 2001-9999, phpBB Group
magicJack and magicJack Plus are trademarks of magicJack LLP. This website is in no way affiliated, endorsed, or sponsored by magicJack LLP, and is an unofficial forum for consumers to openly communicate regarding their experiences with the magicJack products.